The End....For Now


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
August 6th 2006
Published: August 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Our last few days in Barcelona were spent mostly hanging around and studying for our 2 finals. Not exactly how you want to spend your last weekend in Barcelona but it must be done. I managed to make it to an art museum with Tony one morning. It was a huge place and it had a good view of the city.

Tuesday after our last final we just tried to soak up as much of the time we had left. Hung out with our girls. I am going to miss them so much. At least we will have Veronica in Houston with us!! For our last dinner in Spain we had paella. Jennifer and I peeled our own prawns. I'm so proud of us. That's twice now. We spent the last night running around Barcelona trying not to think about that we were leaving in just hours. I think we got about an hour and a half of sleep.

At the airport I thought we were going to see a fight. Some dude in the line for Zurich was getting angry about something. The security guys were called over. We got out of there, not sure what happened. We flew from Barcelona to Geneva. We bought Swiss Chocolate. I must say its not as good as I was expecting. You know how I love my chocolate.

From Geneva we flew to New York. That was probably the best flight of my life. Seriously. I could have actually stayed on that airplane longer. I won 1 million pounds on Who Wants To Be A Millionaire on my little tv screen. I slept like a rock for probably 4 or 5 hours in my giant reclining chair. Watched the part of V is for Vendetta that I didn't sleep through. (What I saw was pretty good - I hear the beginning is good too :-) ).

Tommy will appreciate this. In the JFK airport I was wandering around and nearly freaked out when I saw Maria Bello. For those of you who dont' know who she is see Coyote Ugly, she's the bar owner. She was also on ER. Anywho, I saw her and thought maybe it was someone else that looked like her with 3 personal assistants. Then she spoke and I was like Wow. I don't know if New Yorkers are just used to such things or didn't realize who she was or what but I think I was the only person to notice.

Jennifer and I thought we probably wouldn't have to deal with screaming children on any of our flights back because we were in first class. Boy were we wrong. On our flight from JFK to DFW. Right behind me. Screamed for probably the last 45 minutes of the flight. Thank goodness for the iPod. Don't leave home without. We were late leaving JFK and Jennifer nearly didn't make her connection to Austin. They had to deliever her her luggage the next day.

So now we are back in the great state of Texas. Its so hard to believe that its over. Those two months flew by. It was the best summer I could have imagined. Leaving was really hard (but 1st Class seats all the way back made it a little easier - thanks Dad!!) I'm gonna miss hanging out with the friends we made on the trip, but we are already planning a Houston reunion for Veronica's graduation.

So here's a little list of what I made it two months without:


Maybe I didn't learn a whole lot of law this summer but I definitely feel like I learned a lot and I wouldn't trade it for anything. Now I gotta work on getting my pictures organized and presentable!! So I guess this is it. I am not on my computer right now so I will have to post pictures on here in a couple of days. Thanks to all of you who kept up with us through here for the last 2 months. It was a blast.

Advertisement



10th August 2006

Thanks
Thanks, girls. Your entries were a delightful read. Great pics, too, i'm jealous. I now hate you.

Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb