Barcelona Day 2 (Day 20)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
June 2nd 2012
Published: June 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So Saturday was also a blast. We started off with a trip to ye olde Sagrada Familia. You know, the premier cathedral in the world that is in the works for completion in the next 50 years. The cathedral that Gaudi designed for 40 years straight and then only saw 1 face completed. It was freaking incredible and I hope you will look at all of the photos that I post. Each piece is intricately made with symbolism and attention to detain. It was Gaudi’s piece that is designed to represent the works of the ages. He knew that the building would never be done in his lifetime so he wanted it to be a building that allows each generation to contribute. There is a large amount of controversy surrounding the selection of the pieces that are chosen to be a part of the building and the sculptors and artists chosen. Right now there are 8 towers around 80 meters tall. There are going to be 18 in total when it is done. And a cross ill be constructed 170 meters tall in the middle. There is more information here: http://www.sagradafamilia.cat/sf-eng/?lang=0. Gaudi is a genius. I am pretty sure that the man designed all of Barcelona

After that we split off into groups and my group went to the Park Güell (also designed by Gaudi and were able to see more works of art by Gaudi (if you haven’t noticed – almost everything worth seeing in this city was designed by him. Here is link to information on the park: http://www.parkguell.es/en/index.php.

After that I went shopping with some friends and got a trendy outfit – it has to be true because it was double checked by females and a gay guy. That is when my camera went missing though 😞. It sucks but there is nothing that I can do right now. I am working around it well though. I think it will be fine. For dinner we ate tapas, tapas and more tapas. If I have forgotten to mention tapas they are little Spanish appetizers. 6 fill up an average man. I ate 11. There were so many people there. It turned out that 8 of us ate 115 tapas. That is a lot. After dinner we went to the hostel and went out for another fun night on the town.

It may not seem like much but it was a lot I assure you. Look for my next blog soon…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb