Day 21: Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
September 18th 2008
Published: September 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Woke up this morning, not feeling my best, but after a very large bottle of water and breakfast I started to feel normal again. Daniel, Robert and I headed to the train station to make sure our reservation for the train to Madrid tomorrow was taken care of, then it was off to the beach!

We got down to the water, and the guys jumped right in, I on the other hand didn't have a bathing suit, so I stuck my feet in. When I couldn't take it anymore I ran back to a store we had passed along the way, bought a bathing suit for 10 euros, and ran back. Daniel promptly pointed over my shoulder, told me to "look over there!" picked me up and dropped me in the water. It was freezing, but exhilarating! We tried to swim out to the man-made breakers, but they were a lot farther off than they looked and we only made it about 3/4 of the way. Unfortunately we didn't have a whole lot of time to play in the water, because we had made reservations for a Spanish cooking class and had to get back to the hostel to clean up and get to the meeting-point by 6.

The best part of the class was that there was unlimited supplies to make your own sangria, and it was delicious! We enjoyed tapas and the sangria while they taught us how to make paella, which of course was delicious as well. The group that had been in the class with us stuck around the bar for a bit after and we took part in the "Legendary" Quiz night at Travel Bar. Best part is, is that our group won, and we got a 125 euros voucher. Split amongst us all, Daniel, Robert and I got 25 euros, which is perfect for lunch tomorrow!

After that we made our way along the port and ran into a huge group of university students who had all come down to the port on the metro, to get rowdy with whipped cream. It was hilarious, all of them were sticky, and some even had a white film over them, making them look kind of ghostly. Then we headed to Moog, a club that plays great music, and doesn't even start to get busy until 2am. Like I said, the night life is a culture, they take it very seriously. By this point, I was exhausted so we didn't stick around very long, and went back to the hostel. Gotta re-energize for tomorrow!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb