Ole!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
May 28th 2008
Published: July 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Gaudi's MasterpieceGaudi's MasterpieceGaudi's Masterpiece

the Sagrada Familia- pretty neat!
My second and last night in Spain. It's been good. I like this campsite. The rooms are big, the bed doesn't squeek, there are lots of showers, and they are hot! Plus there is the internet. I love reading the emails and admittedly right now I am missing home. I think mostly because so far I have not really bonded with anyone on this trip.

Anyways, the day started at 6:30 when we woke up. We were off pretty early. Simon and Mecha took us on a quick bust tour of Barcelona. We got to hop off and take some photos. The panoramic view of Barcelona is exactly how I imagined- almost like building upon building. One of our stops was the Olympic stadium from...1992 I think. We also stopped and seen a church that is absoulately amazing!! It is called Sagrada Familia. Gaudi was working on it, and all of the plans were in his head until he got hit by a bus! So the other side of the church looks totally different. It's very impressie!

We walked through the Gothic Quarter and saw some really old buildings. We walked where Christopher Columbus ran up to the steps
La RamblaLa RamblaLa Rambla

Main shopping street in Barcelona.
where he woud tell the King and Queen of the new world. That's pretty cool. We also seen big holes in the sides of a building where some people were massacred years ago. Spain has some amazing architecture. Everything seems so colourful here!

I also seen the ocean for the first time!! The gates to the beach were closed though, but I could hear it and took photos.

Karen and I went shopping, which was cool. Most people spoke English. I bought a silver ring, a necklace, a beautiful black fringed shawl with pink roses, a hand painted fan, post cards, a keychain, and running shoes! My feet are so swollen. I have big hobbit feet. My calves are killing me pretty bad too so I figure some proper shoes were a good investment!

We ate at a place, kinda fast food Spanish style I guess. I had some sandwhich on foccacia bread with salami and cheese. It was good! We also later wanted a drink really bad so we stopped at the Hard Rock Cafe. We got nachos and some fruity alcoholic drinks in big glasses- that we got to keep! Sweet ass!!

We went
All Dressed Up!All Dressed Up!All Dressed Up!

Karen, Gloria, and I ready for some flamenco dancing!
to see flamenco dancing tonight, too. It was a private show just for us and we got free sangria (mmmm) and some appetizer type food. I don't know what it was. They made a lot of people go up and participate, which was so funny! At the end we had to all get up and do a group dance. That was A LOT of fun.

After we went to Porto Olympico. The harbour is gorgeous! I've never seen a real harbour before. So many boats! We all had supper there. Mecha suprised us with free appetizers and sangria at this one restaurant. I had chicken and fries for my main course. Karen had fish that still had its head. There was a kind of chocolate cheesecake for dessert. Appetizers were shrimp and bruscetta. I caught the bus back here at 10:30 with a few others. Everyone else stayed in Barcelona to go clubbing there. I was feeling it. I came back, emailed, showered, and here I am.

Tomorrow we are off to the French Riviera!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb