And so the second half of my adventure begins


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
August 25th 2007
Published: August 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I have officially finished my work placement. And I won't lie...it was slightly sad. Although I didn't really do much there all the time, I really loved the people. And on Thursday, since some people were working different shifts, they switched it so that everyone (except me) came in at 6am so that we could all be done at 2 and then they took me out to celebrate my bday. It was so nice, they paid for everything and bought me a card and a necklace. I will miss them so much! Then Friday was left for packing, and didn't I discover that I had left my camera at the factory! Eek! It was a mad dash back to get it and finish packing so I could go drop my bags off at Irune's (the girl who spoke English in the lab). But I made it off with no other problems.

I'm starting my adventure back off in Barcelona. I figure it was somewhat familiar so it was a good way to start off my trip flying solo. Man, what a city! I LOVE IT!!!!!

I got there though and had a hard time finding my hostal. I found the area (SKETCHY!!!!) and asked at some hotel for directions. The guy told me I was supposed to call ahead cause they are not always there to let you in. Crap! But they were there, although there was no sign and they gave the wrong address on hostel world. So I dropped off my bags and the first thing I did was go find another hostal. I didn't even feel safe walking there by myself during the day, so there was no way I was chancing it at night. I found one but it was a single room, so it was a little expensive but my safety is way more important. So I took Chels' advice: if something goes wrong, fix it. So simple and yet so smart! You're so full of wisdom Chels!

I walked around La Rambla (the famous tourist street....I'd never be able to drag Grandma away from it!) and La Boqueria (the famous market) and then I needed a nap cause I didn't sleep well on the bus. I then went on a walking tour and saw some really cool bulidings (Gaudi was quite the architect). Then I took a night tour bus and really enjoyed it. The city is gorgeous at night all lit up! We went to a fountain show set to music and the water and colours change....it was much more amazing then I'm making it sound. The next day I went to the aquarium (I'm such a sucker for advertising ploys...the sign said "you haven't been to Barcelona until you've been here"), but I don't think it was worth the price of admission. The sharks were cool, but the penguins were kind of boring - but but boring. I then went to a 3D IMAX show. We got to where these cool polarized glasses and all. It was in Spanish, but I think I understood most of it....or at least the general idea. Definitely worth the price of admission. Then I went for some paella (finally!). Its their famous rice dish in Spain. Then it was an early night cause I had to leave at 5am the next morning.

So I'm leaving my favorite Spanish city 😞 The ironic part though is that my travel book called it the most un-Spanish place in Spain....oops! However, Pamplona has been my favorite experience so far. I love San Firmine, it felt VERY Spanish.

Off to Palma! Bring on the sun and some birthday fun!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb