Already?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
July 5th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, that was a quick month. Saturday at 6:30 AM I will be on my way back to the US. It will be good to be home, see whats-his-face, maybe slow down on the overindulgence of food, money etc. But I know as soon as I get home I am going to miss it here! I have my Spanish final tomorrow...I already miss my teacher. She was so nice and helpful!

Last Saturday we went to Montserrat, which means "serrated mountain." It is called this because...well you can figure it out. The residents of Montserrat make wine and cheese - I didn't try the wine, but I bought a block of smelly goat cheese. not my favorite. There is a monestary on top of the mountain, where we got to watch the end of a Saturday service and the beginning of the beginning of a wedding. According to our tour guide, Montserrat is the place to get married if you like to "be seen".
That afternoon we traveled to Sitges, a beach town that the guide said was a lot like San Fransisco. The beach was amazing - the sand was much softer than the rocky clay that is on Barcelona beach. interesting side note: Sitges is a top vacation spot for gay couples.

Mom and Pete arrived this week. On Monday we went inside two of Gaudi's famous houses: The Pedrera and the Casa Batllo. He has a very unique style - the outside of the Casa Battlo is supposed to mimic waves on a stormy day. We also took a cable car to the top of Barcelona - wonderful view of the harbor on one side and the city on the other.

On Tuesday night I went to an absinthe bar where Ernest Hemingway used to go! Pretty quiet...didn't see any tormented writers. Then last night we finally made it over to the Dow Jones bar (drink prices go up and down on a tv screen according to popularity) Very crowded!! Ernest definitely wouldn't hang out there.

All right...
Hope everyone had a great Fourth of July! Bye!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



6th July 2007

yaaaaaay!
i'm glad you gave me this address again! it sounds so fun, i want to come! but we will be very glad to have you back in america! sex bob, sex dan.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb