Me Gusto Mucho Barcelona!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
June 17th 2007
Published: June 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ahhhh! I wish I had more time in Barcelona, it is such a cool city! First of all, I think I found food heaven here. There is a huge open air market place on Las Ramblas that has just about every food imaginable: fresh fruit, tons of seafood, bread, meat, pasta, candy, pretty much everything you could ever need. I had mango juice from there that taste like someone had just taken a fresh mango and put it in the blender. Sooo good! Today I walked around and saw some of the Gaudi's that are all over the city. I saw the sagrada familia cathedral, which is amazing and intricate. Then I hiked around Parc Guell (well, hiked as much as possible in reef flip-flops). Its up on a hill, so you can get views from all over the city! I finally went for a running tour of the city this afternoon, I ran down to the beach since I didn't get a chance to actually go on this trip (I figure I'll be at the beach for more or less the rest of this trip). It was really pretty, crowded since its Sunday.
The hostel I'm staying in is really cool, I definitely prefer it to a hotel. I met some cool people last night, a group from Buffalo, two girls from Seattle, and a girl who's a med student in England! They were all about 20-21, which made me feel old when I realized that's practically my brother's age! They were fun though, we hung out in the hostel and went out a little last night. The New Orleaner in me was disappointed when everyone was ready to go bed by 1 though :-). The hostel itself is in an awesome location, right in Plaza Real which is right on Las Ramblas (turn left at the McDonald's...). This morning there was some kind of collectors sale going on, old men were selling coins, stamps, bottle caps, all kinds of things. Some of them walked around with binders of stuff to trade, it reminded me of trading POGs in the 7th grade. I managed to find 2 cool pins for a total of 1 euro, yay for cheap souveniers!
I have a super early flight tomorrow from girona airport, which is about an hour and a half from here, so I'm catching a bus at about 4 am! Probably won't go to bed and will just sleep on the plane.
Will update from Tenerife!

Advertisement



17th June 2007

yeah for Jen
Love the blog, in my heart I am traveling too. Places I have never seen are coming to life. Love It
18th June 2007

the hostel sounds like a really great experience! i wish i could have met up with you in paris but we will just have to settle for cesme. im sure we can make do! enjoy your next city and i cant wait to hear what you will discover!

Tot: 0.612s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.4346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb