Spain!¿!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
April 22nd 2007
Published: April 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Here in Barcelona at an internet cafe. Ive been here since Thursday night and will be leaving on Weds morning for the Peripignon area. Barcelona has treated me well, but I think it´s ranking about third in my big-city preferences. Maybe that will change after we go to the beach and wander around a bit more.

I was a bit worried coming to spain not knowing more spanish than "hello," "goodbye" and "thank you," but it seems like more people know english here than in Paris. The city is fun and bustling, but I have yet to really lock into its vibe.

Last night, Amy, Marie and I decided to go and explore Barcelona's night scene; however, our plans were cut short after an unexpected expense: sangria. You know, that wine/grape juice concoction that costs a couple of euros in the store? Yeah, well a bit of advice for future travelers: DONT GET SANGRIA ON THE RAMBLAS. That is, unless, you are willing to pay 15 euros for it. Yep, you read it right. Fifteen whoppin euros for mediocre grape juice. The only way I can look at that situation without feeling sick to my stomach about spending that much of my limited budget is to consider it a learning experience. If you ask the waiter how much something costs and he plays it off like he forgot the price, dont go there. It's one of their little tricks to take advantage of stupid American girls, I guess.


Photos to come when I have the time and the means to upload.

Hope all is well back in the states. Just about a month...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb