going bland...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
January 22nd 2007
Published: January 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

At request, I am writing in as much detail possible about life so far in Barcelona. Although, I do not think I will be very successful due to the fact that my writing lies artistically bound in my blood and writing in realistic terms isn’t so invigorating for me. So I believe this note will be short…and most likely you will get more from the "impressionist writing" (as it has been so kindly called) I’ve been spouting out lately…. ☺
Since arriving in Barcelona I have enjoyed the rollercoaster so far. My family is a couple in their late 30’s. We live in a small but homey apartment. Their names are Judith and Roger. I gave up being a vegetarian over here…and have been paying dearly for it…but I have been lucky enough to find sanctuary in a few local restaurants….so a few days a week my stomach and mouth find peace. Days so far have been: a few hours of classes, good food and wine, and discovering the city. While there are many beautiful things about this city, the architecture, the language, the food…the wine….it is still a city to the core. Dirty, polluted, with a large portion of the people who are surprisingly hard and non responsive to each other…much the same as many other large American cities...
So while I am enjoying it thus far, it is in fact another city…while I am drawn to cleaner air and quieter lifestyles…the water is a pleasant mile down from the city center or an even better beach town 30 min south. I would tell you about classes, but they are boring and I am learning more from the actual experience then I will ever learn in a classroom; well, maybe the Spanish class helps a little…lol. I have already met some very interesting people…and seen some even more interesting things….and am expecting the coming weeks to bring many more.
To answer a few questions: ☺ no, I am not concentrating on business anymore (how ironic since I am here at a business school…long story), and yes I have thought of pursuing some more thought in digi photography…and yes I have thought about writing quite seriously…
But…
If this trip is teaching me anything…it is teaching me that life comes day by day…breath by breath…that it is ok to not know what comes next….that plans are never reality…that what happens just happens….and that true love between family, friends, and my sweet boyfriend is something so precious…and something that grows stronger even with distance. I find my inner and outer being becoming stronger as I continue my practice of bikram’s yoga and meditation, and long to continue my increasingly nomadic ways. With who and where to…that is yet to be told. If I was becoming a hippie in Portland…well now I’m even more on my way. Life right now is less chaotic, more peaceful, and quite honestly I am happier than I have been in quite sometime. A signal that a change floats on the air.
Ok…I tried really hard to be direct…but I tend to drift. If you have a tough time with my blogs…have someone read it to you and close your eyes….and picture the sun disappearing beneath the waves…imagine the stars shining above the sand and banana trees, imagine smoky bars and packed dance floors throbbing to the beat of the music….imagine gothic buildings mixed with the modern. Hear the horns of crowded streets and the buzz of the mopeds…these are the things that bring the city to life in my mind. These are the experiences…this is the life…so soak it up…I love you and miss you all. Hope all is well in your worlds.
Love from your distant traveler,
Jess


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb