Parc Güell


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
June 5th 2005
Published: June 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey leezard leezard leezardHey leezard leezard leezardHey leezard leezard leezard

The famous guardian of Parc Güell
Another week gone! I'm almost halfway through here in Spain, then off to Budapest and Serbia!

Today I went to Parc Güell, another Gaudí endeavor. The guide book said it was a bit of a hassle to get there but when I got off the metro stop it said Parc Güell 500m. No problem right? Well it turns out its like 500 meters vertically! Not too bad but I wasn't expecting so many stairs.

From the top of the hill you can see all of Barcelona and the ocean and the Sagrada Familia off in the distance, very impressive. Gaudi's assistant Joseph Maria Jujol used a lot of fragmented tiles in the landscaping, I can't really do it justice in words so let's commence with the photographs.




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

La Sagrada FamiliaLa Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia

build faster!
A nice placeA nice place
A nice place

to eat a sandwich. I didn't bring a sandwich :(
Banc de TrencadisBanc de Trencadis
Banc de Trencadis

A huge bench that curves all around
Banc de TrencadisBanc de Trencadis
Banc de Trencadis

I had lots of company
Underneath the benchUnderneath the bench
Underneath the bench

pillars and Spanish guitar
Roof detailRoof detail
Roof detail

I think that if I every become artsy I would do this it looks theraputic.
Lizard front viewLizard front view
Lizard front view

Or it might be a dragon.
Bench, pillars, fountainsBench, pillars, fountains
Bench, pillars, fountains

The lizard is somewhere in there too
YesterdayYesterday
Yesterday

We went to the beach. I don't know what beach but it was nice.
I painted the hall this weekI painted the hall this week
I painted the hall this week

I am a good painter. This is only PART of the hall okay I swear it is a lot bigger than the picture suggests.
My drawing of sushiMy drawing of sushi
My drawing of sushi

Berta helped. Probably the best thing I have ever drawn or ever will draw. I miss sushi and CSI/O.C. I saw some nori in the grocery store but it costs 7.50 Euros for 10 pieces which is crazy but I might have to do it. I also finally found a jar of \"hot\" salsa yesterday (Dorito\'s, not as good as Pace) and it was gone in 18 hours. Please send spicy food my taste buds are starting to grow back.


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb