Montserrat


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Monistrol de Montserrat
January 8th 2012
Published: January 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Montserrat. A city literally built into the side of a mountain. It was amazing.

After about an hour long subway ride, we got to the cable cars that took us all the way up the mountain. This was unreal, and I was freaking out. You could see the cable car station then were they were heading, but you couldn't see where it ended, it just kept going up the mountain. So after freaking out for a bit, we finally got to the top.

Once there we got to walk around the little city for awhile, which was really cool. We then went into the Santa Maria de Montserrat Basilica. This place was unbelievable, and had one of the few Black Madonna Holy Images left, which I was able to touch. After that, I bought and lit a candle for my family in the Holy Mother's trail out of the basilica.

There is a monorail that takes you vertically up past the city to the very peak of the mountain where the old hermits used to live when the city was built. I was already up high enough and refused to go any further, but a group of my
MeMeMe

On top of the world, literally
friends finally talked me into it, and I am sure glad they did. I was on top of the mountain, with no guard rails or tourist spots. Just me on top of a mountain. I got to look out over the entire country, and got to see THE best view I have ever seen (notice how I keep 1 upping my best view from the day before). I was literally looking down at the clouds. After the initial scare of being up so high, it was an amazing view, and so peaceful. I could have sat up there all day (nowhere near the edge, but still..). This is one where you will just have to wait for the pictures I upload, when I put them all up. These views are amazing. Unfortunately, my camera died right before I got to the peak! Luckily, one of my friends had her camera and I was able to get a few pictures in!

It's bed time here, class again tomorrow...


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



9th January 2012

Hi Jimmy The Wows keep getting more exciting every day. I don\'t think I would have the nerve to go up that mountain - but it looks like it was worth I! I love the pictures. Send more. Love you Grandma

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb