Updates!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Valladolid
April 15th 2008
Published: April 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

I know it's been a long time since you've heard from me, but I have no pics to add, so I feel bad just sending text....oh well, hopefully I'll write clearly enough so you have a full vision of what I've seen recently.

Not quite sure where I left off, but the most recent big event in Spain for me was Semana Santa, or Holy Week in Valladolid.

I went to several of the Holy Week processions, which are like nothing I've seen in the US. Easter is celebrated quite differently here. The whole week in Valla is filled with processions every day to celebrate the Passion. These are indeed the processions with the people dressed up in the huge hoods, that look like KKK outfits. It is actually quite scary when you're watching the parade (at night) and one of the KKK looking members stops right next to you: It's dark. You can only see the whites of their eyes. They turn their head slightly & look at you. There are horns & drums in the background. In front of you is a huge, antique, highly-valued statue of Jesus, Mary, etc...adorned with flowers & candles....they move slowly to the solemn beat of the drums...

Easter in Valladolid is rather solemn, due to the spirit of the processions...And Easter Sunday is not the same kind of celebration as in the US. No easter egg hunts, no easter bunny, no family gatherings. Strange, huh?

The best part of Easter was that my aunts & uncles, Rochelle, Renee, Les & Gary came to visit me!

We were in Valla for a while, then we went to Segovia, Granada, Toledo & Madrid.

We had a blast!

Tidbits from our Journey:

...My uncle Gary's luggage got lost on the short trip from Madrid to Granada...

....A bird pooped on my aunt's head in Toledo.

...We all got drunk our last night in Madrid at the Hard Rock Café (can you get anymore American than that?)

Well, must run to class. For those of you who weren't aware, my mom & sis arrive tomorrow in Madrid & RUso & I are going to pick them up!!! Can't wait to see them!

Love
brooke

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb