Tracksuits and other things...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca » Villamayor
April 2nd 2012
Published: April 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Thoughts to Jot:First day of school and I managed to forget a pen or pencil-felt like a little kid again-only a little kid in a classroom where everyone speaks a different language and so who do you ask to borrow a pen or pencil from???

Breakfast in front of an ancient church with the church bells ringing in the background, as I sipped tea and wrote in my journal.

THANK GOD I found some friends to have tapas and drinks with! Spent the evening talking the issue of monogomy in marriage, Ethiopian history, and the geography of Zimbabwe with a woman from London and a gentleman from Eritrea.

Sentiments: How is it even possible that this is my daily life!! It is far too wonderful and I am filled with gratitude and awe.

Note to Self: When I want a chocolate croissant, do not hesitate to assert this when they bring me the wrong item!

Something of the Ridiculous: Tracksuits still occupy a place in the hearts of Salamancans. I observed today that they are still very much alive and in style here as daily casual wear. We are talking kids and adults alike who sport this hot steeelo.

Challenges: Despite walking to the same school destination three days in a row now-I STILL end up taking a different route each time and each time get lost. If I keep this up, it will be a long three months.

Newish words of the day: Coger (in Spain it means to get on a bus, etc but in Argentina it means “to fuck”-just an FYI); Marrido: spouse; Bara or Discoteca for dance clubs but NEVER use the work “club” in Spain unless you want to refer to a strip club or prostitution.

On Today’s Menu: Toast, Corn Flakes and strawberries, toast again, tea, some special type of eggplant and cheese dish Judith’s mother made, salad with crab leg’s flesh (again), fruit, tapas and two glasses of white wine

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb