Comp Task1


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Piedrahíta
June 20th 2007
Published: June 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Flying is on, up with the birds. The buses already in place today, started to ship all the competitors up hill. Matt had been booked on the 9am. I’m sitting in the camper writing this “blog” with a hot cup of tea, Special K , Voltaren, and a hotty , back not good today , so I have decided to rest up. ( mum by the way I know that you are probably worried about me , which I appreciate , but I am fine , remember I have come from good South Island Blood , and have Nana’s voice in the background , “get up girl , if your not on your death bed your fine).
Flying is on, matt will be set, I can see them appearing. Will let matt fill you in with details.

First Day of competition for Matt, he experiences - Pre comp nerves and jitters had matt thinking over and over again how will I fear against the some of the worlds best pilots
Sitting in distinguished company with the like of Mark Leavesley, Mark Hayman and, Steve Ham just to name a few, How will my Aeron (glider) weigh up against the cutting edge designs of the latest comp gliders.
As I prepared for launch I try not to focus on the task ahead, rather keeping the reason for flying in the forefront of my mind, I actually like doing this.
The task consisted of a number of points to pass on the way to final goal. As I left the comfort of the mountain on glide to the first point the glider seemed to cover the ground at a snails pace slow and steady, I was loosing height rapidly and didn’t think I would make my turn, the with a a little bit of luck and observation I found a thermal that gave me 300/400 extra feet of height. I realised then that I might possibly make the first turn point. My flight computer let out a loud beep and I realised I made my first turn. Then came the bad news there was no more lift as I started rapidly descending reality dawned on me that was it. I landed shortly after.


Quiet dayfor lyds, finished my third book, a book swap will be required again. Steve Ham a British Paraglider pilots who lives bwith his wife and family in Peidrihita has kindly let me have free range and google of his library and take the books that apeal .



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.337s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb