A bit of a climb for a great cause!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Castrojeriz
September 11th 2012
Published: September 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

View from alto MostalaresView from alto MostalaresView from alto Mostalares

Love this photo, with such a sunrise!
Hello again everybody!

This time I am writing on a very hot Tueday evening in Casterojeriz at a municpal albergue.

Yesterday I left Burgos in the early afternoon but had a cool)ish) walk with a breeze and some cloud cover. I went as far as the beginning for the Messetta at Rabe de las Calzada which was only about 15 km after the previous day´s 35 km ! Today has been about 25 km. My feet are well and recover quickly from each day of walking.

Despite all that is said about the Messette it is not that bleak. Especially when as with today I left the albergue 45 mins before sunrise. In some ways the sunrises are the rationale for this walk. It is amazing to see the colours change from black to purples to reds to golden fields.

I have seen signs indicating that Santiago is now around 450 km away. One thing that is striking is the amount of wind turbines that are dotted along the way and at night each of them has a white strobe light which makes for an intriguing effect in the morning.

I have finally navigated the mechanism for recharging my mobile sim card so can receive texts and probably Viber on +34693923745

Tomorrow the albergue offers coffee from 4 am. Actually here the owners are very accomplished photograhpers and the dorm is decorated with some amazing images of the Camino.

I have largely given up on travelblog as far as photos are concerned. Instead you can follow my Instagram posts on twitter by becoming a follower of @talkwithscott

Best regards,

Scott

Advertisement



Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb