The Rain in Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Burgos
June 12th 2008
Published: June 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I´m back on the Camino de Santiago (Way of St. James). It's been raining here in Spain almost every day since I arrived. They say this isn´t typical weather for this time of year. At least it´s nice and cool for walking. We actually had 2 days of blue skies yesterday and the day before.

My blisters are healing, and new ones pop up every few days... I'm soaking my feet in hot water while I type this message to you on the Internet. This hostal is an oasis... the owner is playing celtic music on her CD player and making dinner for the 3 of us here (Patricia from Brazil, Daniela from Heidelberg and myself). There is a washing machine here, so I don´t have to wash my clothes in the sink today. I have so much appreciation for the things I took for granted back home. It´s nice to live a simple life for awhile... eat, walk, sleep... eat, walk, sleep. And I´m relishing the quiet time while I walk.

I´ve met people from all over the world on my trek, and every day is filled with simple treasures, like sharing a glass of Spanish wine with
Camino Trio after the rainCamino Trio after the rainCamino Trio after the rain

Laura, Patricia (Brazil) and Fernando (Spain)
new friends from Brazil, England, Denmark, Spain and Germany.

It´s supposed to rain again tomorrow. Hopefully, the sun will come out again before I leave Spain in 3 weeks...

Love, Laura




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Approaching a village in RiojaApproaching a village in Rioja
Approaching a village in Rioja

This is the wine region of Spain
Albergue at NajeraAlbergue at Najera
Albergue at Najera

Albergue is another word for Hostal
Map of the CaminoMap of the Camino
Map of the Camino

Almost half way to Santiago...
Laura & Patricia in front of the Burgos CathedralLaura & Patricia in front of the Burgos Cathedral
Laura & Patricia in front of the Burgos Cathedral

One of the most beautiful cathedrals in Spain


16th June 2008

WOW! Your photos are amazing.
I REALLY hope the weather improves for you! You are seeing so much interesting history, and getting to know so many people. Keep up the good work. And good luck with those miserable blisters...
17th June 2008

Hello Lara
LDub, Thanks for your messages! I thought I´d be able to post to my blog every day, but it´s more like once per week. I´m halfway to Santiago on the Camino... less than 400 Km left to go! And it´s sunny today :-) Love from Spain, LP
30th June 2008

How Inspiring
Laura, Just keep walking! Life can be more satisfying if we planned for tomorrow and lived in the here and now. Have a great time.
30th June 2008

How Inspiring
Laura, Just keep walking! Life can be more satisfying if we planned for tomorrow and lived in the here and now. Have a great time.

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb