Spain - El Camino de Santiago


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre » Pamplona
June 6th 2008
Published: June 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Map of the CaminoMap of the CaminoMap of the Camino

The Route goes from east to west through Spain
I started walking the "Camino de Santiago" (Way of St. James) last weekend. So far, I´ve walked 72 miles and my feet are paying for it! Two words sum it up so far... MUD and BLISTERS.

Besides that, it´s been great. The Camino is a pilgrimage that Europeans have been trekking for over 1,000 years. The goal... to reach the Cathredal in Santiago de Compostella in NW Spain, where it´s believed that the remains of St. James (the apostle) was buried.

My average day of walking has been 8 - 9 hours with an hour break for lunch in the middle. Most of the other "pilgrims," as we´re called, are from all over the world. I´ve only met one other American so far. I´m currently walking with a woman from Brazil named Patricia and a man from Spain named Fernando. Both speak English (good thing, cause I don´t speak Spanish). A couple of days ago, I walked with a couple from Germany and brushed up on my German for a few hours.

There are many villages along the route with hostals where the pilgrims can stay for less than $10 per night. We sleep in large dorm rooms with bunk beds... we have to be in bed by 10 pm and out by 8 am the next morning.

I now have huge, open blisters on the back of my heals, so I´m taking a day off to heal. I´ll try walking again tomorrow. It may be another week or so before I can write again, but I´ll keep you posted...

Love,
Laura




Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The border between France & SpainThe border between France & Spain
The border between France & Spain

There are several fountains along the route like this one, where we can refill our water bottles.
Roncesvalles, SpainRoncesvalles, Spain
Roncesvalles, Spain

My first stop in Spain on the Camino
Inside the Hostal at RoncesvallesInside the Hostal at Roncesvalles
Inside the Hostal at Roncesvalles

This hostal had 180 beds! Good thing I brought earplugs. The building was a monestary - 800 years old.
Road sign to SantiagoRoad sign to Santiago
Road sign to Santiago

Santiago de Compostela is the end point for the Camino
Roman bridge on the CaminoRoman bridge on the Camino
Roman bridge on the Camino

Some of the bridges we crossed were from the Roman Era, almost 2,000 years ago!
The Hostal in PamplonaThe Hostal in Pamplona
The Hostal in Pamplona

Converted from a church in the city. 2 stories of bunk beds for Camino Pilgrims. The cost: $8 for one night.
PamplonaPamplona
Pamplona

Sharing a beer with Patricia (Brazil) and Fernando (Spain) after our arrival in Pamplona.
Pilgrim scultpurePilgrim scultpure
Pilgrim scultpure

Which one is not like the others?
1,000- year old Church1,000- year old Church
1,000- year old Church

Possibly built by the Knights Templar, who protected the pilgrims on the Camino.
Puenta la ReinePuenta la Reine
Puenta la Reine

I walked over this bridge (built in the 12th Century) and through the city of Puente la Reine on the Camino yesterday.
Laura and FernandoLaura and Fernando
Laura and Fernando

We just crossed another Roman bridge
One of my blistersOne of my blisters
One of my blisters

I have a huge, open blister on each heel. This one is covered with a bandage called "Compeed".


6th June 2008

WOW!
Laura- My dad just sent your site link to me. Wow, what a fantastic journey this must be! Andy and I will be looking forward to reading your updates. Take care of those feet! Cheers, Melissa
6th June 2008

Wow!
Mud, blisters and sleeping with lots of other people .....sounds like so much fun. But I am sure that the scenery and the very fact you are walking thru history make up for the aches and pains. Keep the pictures coming.
7th June 2008

Thanks for the update!
Hi Laura, What a great adventure! Thanks for taking us with you. I hope your blisters are healing fast. Feel a big hug coming your way.........
10th June 2008

Awesome!
I feel like I'm there! (I'm limping in sympathy!) What great pics Laura! Thanks so much for allowing us poor souls in rain drenched Seattle (in the 50's here in June!) live vicariously through you. I'm looking forward to reading more! Lucy
12th June 2008

Blisters
Hi Laura, I'm so proud of you for doing this but please make sure you take care of your body. Your feet are soooo important so maybe it will take a couple days off. Miss you and I know that Joy does also. Ginny
13th June 2008

Oh wow!
Is this how I am going to feel after my 60 mile Cancer Walk??? :) I am so proud of you! Take care of those poor feet...

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0791s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb