32nd Day: Madrid (Toledo)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
July 4th 2008
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today Mum and I went on an optional excursion to Toledo. Toledo is one of the oldest city's in Spain and in fact the whole city is protected under UNESCO as a heritage site. When we got there everyone was in awe of the place, it was a pretty amazing thing to see. All the buildings look so old but are very well preserved.

Toledo is one of the only places on earth where Christians, Jews and Muslims have managed to live together in harmony.

When we entered the city our tour guide took us for a walking tour around the city. We saw the Cathedral there as well as going in to see a famous painting... I'm afraid it's been a while so I can't remember who it's by or what it's called but it's one of the top five pieces of artwork to see in Europe. To be honest I couldn't see what all the fuss was about.

After seeing the painting we had free time to wander around the city. Mum and I grabbed some Chinese for lunch and then had a wander, it was a really hot day so it was pretty exhausting being out in the heat.

We then met up with the rest of the group and headed back into Madrid.

Back at the hotel Mum and I went to the gym then I relaxed by the pool for a while and actually fell asleep by the pool! It was quite late though so I didn't get burnt thankfully.

In the evening Mum and I decided not to go to the optional dinner and instead wandered around the hotel looking for a bite to eat. Couldn't find anything good so settled for some snacks. Then on to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb