Is there a 4th of July in England?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Canary Islands » Tenerife
July 5th 2007
Published: July 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was the third 4th of July in a row that I've managed to spend out of the country (although I'm not sure if the Virgin Islands really counts). It was really odd here because there's absolutely no other Americans here, so it was pretty easy to forget what day it was. My boss here did say he wanted to get cakes to celebrate getting rid of America. It's really interesting to see that despite a lot of inequalities that we still have in our country, the majority of us are generally much more tolerant and aware of other cultures than in countries that are less diverse.
I spent 9 hours on a boat yesterday, it was a lot of fun! I was on 2 4.5 hour trips on the nicest boat that we go on, it spends a lot of time at a bay where people can swim and have lunch, and the crew was really nice too. Today I'm back in the research room working on finishing my educational program. I'm bummed that I won't be here to actually carry it out, but I am excited that we got some interest in it, its going to be a key factor for us getting sponsorship from one of the big British travel companies.
We have gone from having 13 volunteers here to 31, which is a huge adjustment, considering we still only have 1 shower that gets any warm water, the line has been unbelievable. We have people sleeping in our living room and on matresses on the floor. It's been pretty impossible to keep food in the house, I think we've been constantly out of milk for the last 3 days. I'm having a great time, but I think I'll be ready to go next week. 13 people was fun to live with, kind of like college again. 31 is insane.
Six of us are hiking the volcano this weekend, I'm so excited! Apparently when we get up to the top on Sunday morning we can see the sunrise over all 7 islands.
Well, back to work, this should be my last day stuck inside, yay!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb