So-called work


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Canary Islands » Tenerife
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I´ve now been on Tenerife for a week and have gotten into the rhythm of the program. I can´t believe I only have 2 weeks left here, it´s going really fast! My favorite days are definitely when I´m out on the boats, the weather has gotten really nice, so I´m getting lots of sun! Yesterday I did 3 2-hour trips, we saw pilot whales on each trip. Actually, I haven´t had a trip yet where we haven´t seen them. I like people watching on the boats almost as much as I like the whale-watching. Most all the tourist here are British, they are just as bad as Americans when they travel, if not worse! I love talking to the kids on the boats, although there aren´t many yet because the schools in Europe don´t let out until mid-July.
My first weekend in Tenerife was a blast. On Saturday I went with most the other volunteers to teach them how to surf. It went better than I expected, I think everyone had a great time. I loved it because I got to be in the water all day and surf a lot. I never realize how much I miss it until I´m out in the water again. That night we all went to dinner and then went out in Los Cristianos, which is horribly cheesy but fun. Next weekend there´s a big music festival/dive exposition here, which should be awesome. Some of us are also going to hike Tiede, the volcano here, and camp so we can get to the summit at sunrise. I can´t wait!
Today I´m in the research center working on our habitat destruction database. It´s interesting work, but being in front of the computer all day is tedious. I was able to get out for a run this morning while the sun was coming out, the views from up here are beautiful. I´m back out on the boats again tomorrow, yay! Hoping for more great weather!
That´s all for now, will update again before this weekend.
Music: The Shins: "Sea Legs", The Weavers: "Wimoweh, The Rapture: "The Devil"

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0147s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb