Damn blinds...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
January 18th 2010
Published: January 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I set my alarm to 8:30am this morning. What time did I awake? Noon-perrrrrfect. It's because of the wonderful (but dangerous) blackout blinds they have on every window here. I need to start leaving them slightly open or something... My Spanish culture class starts at 12:30 so gracias a Dios that I live so close to the school. The rest of the day was good, picked up my other suitcase and went to go get ice cream in el centro. Some of us were saying today that the food is good here, but we're just craving flavorful food! Like I could go for some Chinese or Mexican right about now.... but I know I'll be eating fish and veggies haha. It's very delicious, don't get me wrong, but they could change it up a bit every now and then perhaps...
Tomorrow at midnight El Dia de San Sebastian begins and goes until midnight on Wednesday. It's a HUGE deal here and we don't have school Wed. My host mom was saying that we're going to eat a nice big dinner tomorrow night and then you HAVE to go out. She said it doesn't matter if you're tired, you go out all night haha. Our culture teacher, Paco (who I love), said each person must have their own bottle of champagne (or 2 or 3) and that sharing a bottle is not an option. I found a short video on YouTube that shows a little of the festivities. People dress up as one of two things: French chefs or Military men. They play drums along with music ALLLLLL NIGHT and don't stop until Wednesday. I am definitely excited so see it all in person and will write about it! Besos.



It won't let me upload pics for some reason, so I'll try next time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb