Day 10


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » Bilbao
September 1st 2012
Published: September 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today we did a walking tour of Bilbao. It was such a gorgeous day, we all enjoyed the tour even more than usual especially after having been caught in the rain several times on our walking tour in San Sebastian.

After our walking tour we visited the Guggenheim Museum. We weren't impressed by the first floor. It was all modern art that no one really appreciated. The second floor however was truly amazing. We walked through rooms and rooms of paintings of landscapes by David Hockney. I loved all the colors he used and was so facinated by the way each of the paintings looked. I had never seen anything quite like it. In one of the rooms we decided to take a closer look so we stood right infront of the painting to appreciate it (like the little art critiques we've become after visiting so many museums). When we stood that close we noticed that the paintings actually just looked like a bunch of scribbles. We continued to the next room that was a collection of paintings with dates next to them. I decided that was a good time to put on my headphones and listen to the educational voice tell me about the collection. Hockney had painted the same place everyday for a year and it showed the change in the seasons. It was truly beautiful, but that wasn't the interesting part. Hockney used the Brush app on his iPad to create these paintings. He then took that home and handpainted it onto a canvas so it would look like it was done on an iPad. This was modern art we could appreciate. There was so much talent and effort put into his work and it was like nothing I had ever seen before. I can honestly say I am a true fan of his work.



Two girls and I decided to walk around the city after we finished in the Guggenheim and we did some shopping. Once again we all went back to the hotel and enjoyed the wifi together.

We went out for our final dinner of this trip as a group. It was sad because we were finally beginning to understand our professors and now we had to leave them. I'm so happy that Ricardo will be my teacher for Modern Art. Like I mentioned earlier he is so passionate and I can tell I'm going to learn alot especially now that I am adjusting better to his accent.





Off to Madrid aka Home tomorrow !!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb