Western Europe


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » Bilbao
June 9th 2006
Published: June 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sheet MountainSheet MountainSheet Mountain

An inconquerable, man-made monument. Rome, hostel.
I guess it was a packet of chips for lunch on a park bench in Barcelona because I couldn't stand the idea of yet another lunch alone that told me my Europe travels were coming to an end soon. I was in one of the world's greatest cities and I could only really just appreciate it for being that. The stress of solo travel is wearing me out. I've also hit a bit of depression and a bout of what I think is giardiasis.

Anyway, time for the travel bits !!

Rome was a ball of accommodation hassles. All I really remember was phoning places from before I left Florence to every day being in Rome trying to find a cheap bed. However I avoided sleeping at the Colloseo, and saw the sights etc.

So, Barcelona, city of arty delights and the mullet. Yes the Spaniards seem to be big on this style. In fact my second day there I wandered, desperate for a trim into a dodgy looking barberia (pecucheria I think they're called), to find a mulleted hairdresser. Well, part time hairdresser, part-time makeup artist for B-grade Spanish horror films. This explains my haircut. He also turned out to be a Peter Jackson fan; though not LOTR or King Kong Jackson, but Meet the Feebles and Braindead Jackson. He showed me photos of his work and I wandered out in a daze, a new man, with many lengths of hair to the Miro fundacio which was fantastic. I love Miro.

More wandering and a day of Gaudi, just enjoying the city and the atmosphere. I stayed at an odd place called Gothic Point, which was a bit of a scam, and again failed to meet any solo travellers with similar travel ideas or plans. In fact the solo traveller appears to be an real rarity.

From Barcelona I made my way eventually to the Pyrenees, and a cute little stone village called Torla, near the entrance to Ordesa national park. I had a great three days of day-hikes, all recommended by the lovely host from the refugio, Ana from Argentina. On the last day she had a free day so she guided me out to some waterfalls for a picnic lunch.

Sitting here now in San Sebastian (seaside tourist trap) I think I should have stayed there. I move onto Bilbao tomorrow and
Vatican queueVatican queueVatican queue

Nutters. Mind you I did join the next day (it was free).
more accommodation woes and from there I really just don't know.

The problem with solo travel is really having just too much freedom, and in Europe you can pretty much go in a dozen directions at once, without having to think of another person. Its been three months and I feel a need now for some kind of plan, some give and take, some sustained social contact, a job. But where, what, how? I have no work visa, am an elderly 32 (no working holiday for YOU!), speak only English. Any ideas?


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Miro monumentMiro monument
Miro monument

A woman and bird in Barcelona.
On the trail, pyreneesOn the trail, pyrenees
On the trail, pyrenees

Trail markers (the pile of rocks)
Puerto BujarueloPuerto Bujaruelo
Puerto Bujaruelo

Hey where is everyone?
Damn snowDamn snow
Damn snow

Actually these stopped me getting to the Puerto (300 metres away). I didn't have the cramp-on thingies.
Koons' PuppyKoons' Puppy
Koons' Puppy

Needed a pat. Okay I didn't have the 'holding the tower of Pisa' photo.
Guggenheim BilbaoGuggenheim Bilbao
Guggenheim Bilbao

Nice building, apparently the art inside not so great.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb