The last day


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca » s'Arenal
July 30th 2023
Published: July 30th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Last day

I was up early this morning! 8:30! I woke up naturally too; that’s a shocker! But I am ready for home. I’ve enjoyed my ‘relax’ time. It’s really not my regular choice of holidays, but on this occasion, it was fit for purpose! Not good at doing nothing on holiday, but it’s for exactly what I asked for.

As I’d half packed last night, I had very little to do this morning. My case is only a small 10k case, so not much to go in it! Also, I haven’t bought anything, so no extra luggage to carry. I generally do like to treat myself when I’m away, but there was nothing that I wanted!

Mallorca is known for its pearls, when I was here about 15 years ago I bought myself a nice natural pearl, on its own. I had a little gold cage made for it at Henry Hird’s jewellers in Hull. I wear it a lot, so I don’t have the need for another!

I came down to reception at about 9:30 to put my case in the lock up room, before breakfast. Breakfast was quick and easy this morning. I just went down the same route as yesterday, but I have been eyeing up the croissant section. So today I added a third course to breakfast. A chocolate sponge thing and a croissant. I’m ok with croissants for breakfast, but the chocolate thing… wwoaahhh…. That was way too sweet, how can that be breakfast! Never again! Sugar overkill in a morning!

I’m going to spend my last day down on the beach, as it’s my last chance for a tan top up. Plus, being up early today, I’ll enjoy the snooze time!

I found a nice, quiet spot on the beach. A few young families, no drunken Germans in sight, but it is early …. for me, and probably them too! I’m straight on with the toss, turn, dip repeat routine. I seem to be doing better today, not so fidgety! It could be that I’m finally getting good at this! But it’s more likely that it is because it’s my last day, and I’m ready for home! I have enjoyed it, but 5 days is just enough for me. I noticed that I have spent a lot more time in the sea today. I think it’s because of the spot I’m in; it’s not all cobblestones underfoot, it’s smooth, the cobblestones make it a lot of effort getting in and out!

I’ve been on the beach now nearly 3 hours, and I’ve only just decided to have a drink break! I’m usually constantly looking at my watch to check if I’ve stayed long enough to be ready for a drink! Today I push the boat out and choose Coke Zero for a change! I don’t normally drink coke, but it’s so hot! I need to cool down!

Then back for round 2 in the beach, it didn’t go so well this time. I lasted about an hour and a half!

I decided to go for a walk. My last one I guess! I’ve decided to go back to the Italian restaurant for that spaghetti bolognaise and bruschetta for my last meal, as it was so nice the last time I had it! And it didn’t disappoint! That should see me through to getting home! I might just get a sandwich at the airport….just in case!

Funny thing happened at the restaurant… the serving guy is Indian, he remarked on my Hindi necklace last time I was there. I’d had a lucky find this morning on the beach. My necklace had fallen off onto my wrap that I lay on….so lucky that I saw it! I put it back together, and back on. I didn’t realise I had put it on backwards!!! I have a photo on my phone, so that I know how it goes. What I didn’t realise, photos are not a reflection…. Hence, I put it on wrong way round! He noticed, and told me… ha ha, I felt daft, but also grateful that he told me!

So now it’s a walk back up that bloody big hill for my last Lemon Fanta at the little cafe. Again, the lady saw me swearing up the hill, and had my drink ready for me… bless her, she has no idea how much I appreciate her actions after crawling up that bloody hill!

Now to get ready to leave. They have no changing room at the hotel, so I manage as best as I can in the toilets! Done, dusted and ready to go! I head over to the little cafe for a coffee con leche whilst I wait for my transfer.

I’m going to end the blog there…. All done. I can’t imagine anything is going to happen from here!!!!

Until next time, hope it fulfilled your nest needs Kate xx

Advertisement



30th July 2023

Over and out!
It is a privilege that you share your life on holiday with us all. Pleased you enjoyed chilling! Ready for the fray again now.....hope you had a safe trip home.
2nd August 2023

Thank you
I love getting the comments! To be honest, it has been well received by more views than I imagined! And quite a few thank you texts… surprisingly!
22nd August 2023

Test
Test

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb