its been awhile


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca
August 24th 2011
Published: August 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

hello everyone!

I know it has been a while since my last entry and I apologize. This last month has been a little bit crazy compared to the other months of my travels. I have been jumping around and having limited access to computers. I am now in a set location for a couple of days and can now inform you of my journey.

It started after Croatia. I was scheduled to go to Scotland and camp in the highlands for two weeks fallowed by a trip to Holland and France. The trip started out according to plan but quickly took a dramatic turn. While in Scotland my two companions and I became violently ill. Each one of us suffered a vicious stomach bug that really knocked us out. After two days of being sick and then another recovering we realized that we didn't have the stamina to continue our wild camping adventure. (Conveniently one of the guys had to return to Canada because he was out of money...) So now our whole trip had been derailed and plans had to shift. Instead of all traveling together we decided to cut the tie and go our own ways.

I still ended up going to Holland and it worked out nicely because I was able to meet up with a friend, who lives in Amsterdam, that I met on the Camino. I was able to stay with him and see some cool stuff in Holland. We went to museums, walked the city, went sailing, saw some really cool live theater at a festival, went to the Heineken factory... lots of fun things. Then I was invited, by my mothers cousin Rene, to come stay in Majorca, an island just off the Mediterranean coast of Spain. It seemed like a good idea so i jumped on the invitation. Before I made it to Majorca I decided to stop off in Barcelona. I had heard so much about Barcelona that I knew I had to see it. From there I was able to take a ferry across the water to Majorca. Barcelona is an amazing city and I finally got to see the famous work of Goudi and experience a FC Barcelona match in Spain (not at the stadium, but in a bar with Spanish people haha. still a cool experience).

So now I am in Majorca hanging out and it has already been an amazing stay. I have been here for one day now and I have seen a third of the island probably. I will say that it is a beautiful place and that anyone who would come here would find a paradise. Come night time, the island wakes up and everyone comes out to party! We are living right in the middle of an exciting social setup. Bars, restaurants, clubs, the beach... what more could you ask for? It seems like it will be an exciting week.

Anyway I will be here till late August and then go back to Geneva. From there It is a mystery... I can report though that I will be home sometime in September so I look forward to seeing everyone again. I am sorry to report that I am unable to post pictures at this point, but plenty will be coming the near future. Hope this fills in the gap and keeps everyone informed. Like always I wish everyone happiness and health. Until next time,

all love,
Brian


Advertisement



25th August 2011

When is the book coming out???
It all sounds fantastic!! Maybe you can write a book about it all. Pack it with adventure, humor, drama, near death experiences, wisdom, insights and the logistics of getting around with little money and possessions. It will be a best seller, I am sure of it!! So proud of you!! MOM

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb