Another trip back in 2007


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca
April 12th 2008
Published: April 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sorry about this, I'm just updating my travelblog a bit... and I realised that I had not written anything about Mallorca.
Mallorca as you will know, is one island of the Baleares in the Mediterranean Sea, and belongs to Spain.
I've been there thrice over the years, and from time to another it had changed considerably. Now it is known as one of the main cheap and mass touristic destinations - it's next to Ibiza, says a lot...
BUT there are still very local and tranquil places on the island, especially towards the North - mainly because the only airport is in Palma de Mallorca, in the far south of Mallorca. Thus all the cheap tour operators and "all inclusive" offers choose the bay of Palma as a destination - and only few tourists do have the money and courage to rent a car and go north onwards.
As I do not have much money, I've chosen the south too.... But from my precendent visits, I knew Puerto Pollenca and Alcudia - if I'm brave, some day I'll up load photos from these trips, and you'll see how calm and authentic it is there...

Back to the last trip: we've been there a few days, back in August 2007. So it is quite a while since then.... Anyway, our time there was great, we were in a little town not too far from Palma, called Illetas. It is located on the west hand side of the Palma bay (this side is more expensive and less invaded by mass tourists fortunately).
I must say I was quite agreeably surprised by our trip, because it was tranquil and there were lots of little beaches that were agreeable to go to, despite all the tourists from the hotels. We had rented an appartment and could cook ourselves and eat on the terrace, with view on the sea - it was very pleasant and we had a nice time there.

Five days are unfortunately not enough to rest AND to do cultural visits, we only had one day off the beach - we used this day to take an authentic and slow train that runs through the island to another little port, Puerto Soller.
This was quite a pleasant change, and the slow rhythm of the train let us take benefit of the beautiful and changing landscapes. I'll include some pictures as well, it gives you an idea of the different sides of Mallorca.

Now for the pictures, as they say much more than my words!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb