the south side


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Ibiza
July 1st 2008
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am quickly learning that life likes to be the one in control and when you surrender to that, things get very interesting.

so my three month life experience idea at falcon blanco came to a crashing end. I decided that I really want to be in a community where food consciousness was an integral component. Where i could learn to garden and work in a field, pick crops, and then eat a big salad all in one day. The unbelievable amounts of saved 'waste' at the place also were just piling up, being saved for later use. Unfortunately there seemed to be little 'processing' or reflection of what was being brought onto the property, which, we all know, I like to process, reflect, and talk about what is going on.

So, I quickly packed my way too heavy backpack and found a place to wwoof on the south end of the island. I have learned that Ibiza has many different identities. On the north is a huge community of european hippies in the woods and coast caves, while the south is agrotourisme, these do-good farms that cater to tourists. Pretty much 'reformed', high end ex hippies. In between
CIMG3149CIMG3149CIMG3149

tipi fort that i pass on my walk to the beach.
are the cities, discoteques, and bilgerent sunburnt brits. I have been sticking to the quiet farms and beautiful beaches.

I have landed on this amazing b&b retreat place with a neurotic duena and a passionate iltalian woman who manages the working aspect and only speaks spanish to me. Best expression I have learned: romper los cojones. you break my balls. that should help me somehow in a future situation...

ANyways, I wake up way too early, work out in the fields, weeding, collecting vegs, feeding the plants compost, cleaning the horse paddock, and misc other tasks. Then by eleven a.m. I am sweating and starving and stilll have a few hours to go. However after work it is lunch = kelsi's heaven food. bowls of produce from the garden, grain dishes and watermelon. all in this beautiful villa that looks out in a valley and the sea. then i go back to my little casita, siesta it and hit the beach for the rest of the day. Beaches are a ridiculous mix of germans, spaniards, brits, frenchies, and me. best people watching. or i find a little quiet place and read and draw. a little girl came over
CIMG3152CIMG3152CIMG3152

forrest leads to beach
to me the other day and watched me draw. then she decided to ask a few questions, began to feel confident, and so started telling me what i should draw, in spanish - she said draw an estrella (star), so i drew a few but she got mad at me. "Estrella del mar"! 'que?' ''del mar!' so i drew a few more stars and realized she wanted a starfish, which i finally completed. after that i just handed the sketchboook to her and she composed her own sea scene. a sweet unexpected encounter.

it has been a very quiet, hardworking and relaxing, week. i am learning to really sink into what is around me and allowing the trip to become everything i did not expect. i have to leave by the 2nd because three french boys are coming. cant believe i am missing out on that action. not sure about next place yet. getting into some visa trouble. found out i can only be in the EnTIRE EU for 90 days, i thought it was per country, so my popping around doesnt work. unless i find some boy to marry pretty quick, my trip itinerary is changing.

it
CIMG3158CIMG3158CIMG3158

dancing trees - why make sculptures when this is in nature?
is interesting spending a day speaking in spanish. my listening skills have gotten pretty good, but i stumble through speaking. add to me wanting to talk about more broad concepts or non narrative stories, and my spanish is completely incoherent. thus i have to speak in basic grammar which makes me wonder how others see me and my personality. it does make you a different person. it really forces you to learn if you want to speak.

oh, and jellyfish in spain are called medusas. i like that. not their presence in the water though


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

CIMG3165CIMG3165
CIMG3165

my playa hangout cove
CIMG3166CIMG3166
CIMG3166

being by yourself all day = silly ideas and experiements
CIMG3178CIMG3178
CIMG3178

another beach cove. image says it all
CIMG3187CIMG3187
CIMG3187

vineyards give shade to the tomatoes
CIMG3189CIMG3189
CIMG3189

the bin was full when i arrived. since then i have shoveled, it all out and sprinkled it across the fields. by hand
CIMG3192CIMG3192
CIMG3192

i couldnt resist taking the photo
CIMG3194CIMG3194
CIMG3194

fishing for medusas to take out of the water. seems like a lost cause to me
CIMG3195CIMG3195
CIMG3195

the view from the deck of the vila


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.04s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb