The donkeys of Mijas and the birds of Benalmadena


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia
March 19th 2008
Published: March 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We week of March 16-22 is Semana Santa, and also my spring break. Many of my friends were traveling all round Spain, Europe and Africa... but in order to save money and to see the sights of Malaga and around i decided to stay local. I have some great pictures of the festivals and parades in Malaga but once this week is over, I will post all of those together. I took two day trips, one to Mijas and the other to Benalmadena.. two places close to Malaga.

Mijas: March 17

Mijas is this little village about an hour trip from Malaga. They are famous for having the only square bull ring in Spain and also for their Andalucian Donkey taxis. My friend Kat and a friend of hers from home all decided the donkey ride was a must. I was very very excited obviously. Kat got on before me and it seemed easy, however, when I got on my donkey it was the absolute opposite. Mine started to run ahead of all the other ones and violently sway. Im pretty nervous at this point and the spanish man seems to be as well but in shock I couldn't figure out the words for "hey man get me off of this donkey" so i just kept telling him "this is not good!" It gets worse. My donkey catches up to his donkey girlfriend and decides now would be a great time to show some affection (if you know what I mean). Now the whole tourist city is hysterically laughing and I am screaming "I HATE DONKEYS" in english, which is an even bigger scene. I managed to not fall off the donkey somehow but did completely stop traffic. An ambulance passed by and instead of being a helpful public official, he said, in spanish, "beautiful blond, the little donkeys are in love." End of story, I am alive and I will never ride a donkey again.
The rest of the city was beautiful, but I couldn't get over my donkey experience, so it somewhat ruined it. But what a story that is, I will never forget Mijas.
On Wednesday the 19th, I traveled to Benalmadena for the day. This was more of a tourist spot, has an amusement park and a dolphin show. We didn't waste time on that but one thing I loved about it was that it had a gondola up to the top of a mountain where you could see the whole Costa del Sol. The views from the top were breathtaking. Also on the top you could see a horse show, get a donkey ride, or watch a rare falcon and bird exhibit. I skipped the donkeys, the horse show wasn't working, but I did catch the bird show which was neat, and free. This man gave the show in English and Spanish, pretty impressive, and they had some really cool birds like falcons, owls and eagles. I have posted some pictures from that!

Love you all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

kids involved in the showkids involved in the show
kids involved in the show

the little boy on the right was from the USA and all he kept saying was "oh ya!!" it was great


Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb