Joder, Que Calor! (Day 27)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
June 7th 2010
Published: June 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

tourtourtour

bryce, jenelle, fabricio and I
Even though I am here in Sevilla mostly to relax and not sight-see, I figured I should go see most of the big sights today. Headed out into the heat with a Brazilian guy from our hostel named Fabricio. He is currently working in Madrid as an engineer and just makes weekend trips out to different places in Spain whenever he can. Ended up just wandering around the main area for a bit before checking out the Plaza de EspaƱa where they filmed parts of some Star Wars movie (Episode 2 I think). You can see why once you get there. Pretty impressive semi-coliseum like thing they built in the early 20th century. Unfortunately they are doing construction on parts of it which kind of ruined it and down here this type of construction moves pretty slowly.

Headed back into the city centre to visit the cathedral, apparently the largest Gothic one in the world. Usually I don't really care about churches since once you have seen one you have generally seen them all. But just the sheer size and grandeur of it made it worth it, as did views from the bell tower. Pretty funny having a large group of tourists up there and then the bells sound and everyone rushes to cover their ears haha. The only other big sight left to see was the Alcazar, or Royal Palace, so I headed over there. Got the 8 euro entry fee waved with my student card which was nice. I walked around for about 15 minutes before realizing how tired I was and my feet were killing me. That's enough sight seeing in Sevilla for me. I just wanted to escape and head back to the pool.

I needed to get some food and drink, however almost all stores were closed as it was Sunday. So I did what any Jew would do. I found a Chinese owned store open Sundays and Catholic holidays and got everything I needed. Its so common to do this here they just call these types of stores "chinos". Spent the rest of the day lounging at the pool with everyone else in the hostel before heading out for a tapas and flamenco bar tour. The food was great and the flamenco was not bad as well. I can't really judge the quality as I know very little about it but it was a cool experience in a nice little venue.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

tapastapas
tapas

tapas with fabricio
barbar
bar

at the flamenco bar


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb