Day 31: Sevilla


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
September 29th 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I know I said I would update you on the beginnings of the Spain leg of my trip, but at this point I think it's been a few too many days to try to remember it all. So here are a few highlight:

-Went to a couple clubs: Catedral and Buddha... lots of fun, loud music, lot of cool people, everyone stayed out until about 4 am!
-My house mom and her daughter, both named Carmen, are some of the sweetest ladies I've met here; I lucked out... I keep hearing horror stories from a few other people in the program who are really having a hard time with their homestays. And I have my own room! My roommate, Laura is great, we're a lot alike so it's been pretty easy to get along, and we've already become good friends.
-Plans are already in the making for a trip to Lagos, Portugal! Beach!!! (That's all I gotta say)
-We leave with ISA for Morocco in a little over a week, and it's going to be such an amazing adventure!

Sevilla is a beautiful city; I live in Triana, which is one of the oldest neighborhoods, the streets are so tiny cars can't even get down some of them, but there's a surprising amount of apartments and businesses packed into the area. I've been walking everywhere, moreso than I did on the beginning of the trip, which is good considering the fact that my señora cooks a lot of fried food, bread and patatas! She hasn't made paella yet, but I'm sure it will be on the menu one of these days.

Today was the first full day of classes, and I love my professors so far. They are all fair, fun and recognize the fact that we're not here strictly for the purpose of school, and they expect us to be out, actually learning the culture by experiencing it. One of them I've seen out in fact, ironically about 6 hours after he had told us in class that we would.

Enough for now... I´ve got to find a snack since dinner's not for another 3 1/2 hours!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb