Weekend in Lagos, Portugal


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve » Lagos
October 6th 2008
Published: October 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I got back from an amazing weekend in Lagos last night around 10 pm and crashed into my bed head first and passed out immediately. We went with a tour company called Discover Sevilla, who had the whole weekend planned to guarantee plenty of booze, lots of sun, surfing, and VIP parties. We got there around 9pm on Friday which gave us plenty of time to get ready for the night ahead. We started off at Nah Nah Bah for dinner and a few drinks and made our way to Joe's Garage where free drinks and games were waiting for us. I took my shot of absinthe (ever) and almost lost my dinner because it was disgusting! My friend Kristen and I danced on the bar like there was no tomorrow, and drank free beer which obviously kept us going for quite a while. As for everyone else in the bar, there were people taking body shots, beer bong through the legs, beer pong, doing blow job shots, roll the dice for a numbered drink, and drinking cocktails out of buckets, etc... Apparently we went to another bar called Grand Cafe, but i don't remember it all that well! The next day they took the entire group (roughly 130 people) to the beach, where a keg of beer was waiting for us at Bahia, the beach restaurant where we ate lunch and had the most delicious strawberry daquiris.We played beach volley ball, and either I was a little more tipsy than I thought, or I'm horrible at volleyball, because when I served (right after Alex yelled "make it a good one!") I launched the ball straight into Toba's head (one of the guides), and everyone fell into the sand laughing. We won two of the games, and completely failed on the third. After that everybody was roasting hot so we went into the ocean and played chicken, and then Benni (another guide) taught me how to skim board (p.s. it's not as easy as it looks... I suffered my first scraped knee since I was in 5th grade).

That evening they took us to "the End of the World" which was what Europeans back in the day literally thought was the world's end, and sat on the edge of the edge of the cliff to watch one of the most beautiful sunsets I've ever seen. We went to a restaurant that served both French and Portuguese food and had a wonderful dinner that only cost 12 euros each for 3 courses, the last of which was the biggest steak I've ever eaten in my life, and it was delicious. By the time dinner was over it was time to head to Stevie Ray's where Discover Sevilla was hosting a private party with a DJ out of London named Toby One. Drinks were cheap and amazingly enough everyone stayed remotely sober and danced for a majority of the night. The girls and I went home fairly early (at 3am... hehe!), because we didn't want to be hungover for surfing the next day.

Surfing was an incredible experience. I didn't think I'd actually stand up, but I did!!! They gave a majority of the lesson on the sand and then sent us out into the water on our own to figure out our rhythm and style. I ended up catching about 6 waves and standing up without being entirely thrashed, which apparently is pretty good considering it was my first time. Towards the end the waves were starting to get a lot bigger, and the last wave I took was huge, but I managed to make it my best, and rode it most of the way back to shore.

The bus ride home was near silent because everyone was so exhausted, but for those who stayed awake we watched "Dan in Real Life" (with subtitles in Spanish of course), and shared pictures. It was a weekend well spent and I would do it again next weekend if I could, but I'll be in Morocco!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb