My Favorite Place in Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
July 15th 2007
Published: July 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=8zWjPifI0S8][youtube=4VypfCE6-nA][youtube=zYEtkwKs9oA]
Alhambra CeilingsAlhambra CeilingsAlhambra Ceilings

Great colors.
They say the original Don Juan is from Sevilla which makes total sense because this place oozes passion, romance and culture. After spending an evening at a flamenco show and walking the streets of the old town, it’s no wonder he did so well in this town. If I could live anywhere in Spain, it would be Sevilla. . . but, I would have to be a part-time resident as it’s way too hot in the summer. 105 degree while I was here, but at least it’s dry heat like Palm Springs.

I have a feeling it’s more crowded earlier in the summer when the temperature is more bearable, but I love that it’s not packed and everyone seems to move at a slower pace with the heat. They also take siesta much more seriously here than any other place I’ve visited in Spain. My original thought was to make this my first stop in Spain, but I’m happy Sevilla turned out to be the last place I’ll be on my Spain tour.

Flamenco - Incredible is all I can say. I added a couple videos to share, but honestly, it does not do it justice. You need to
Great DressGreat DressGreat Dress

That'll get you noticed.
experience it live. One thing I now know for sure is that my sister was a flamenco dancer in a past life. At times we have called her “Walks With a Stomp”. She would be a natural at Flamenco. There was also this one guy that looked like my old college friend Rajeev . . . but if it were him, that would mean Rajeev has not aged, learned Spanish and developed really great moves flamenco moves. For all you Phi Chi’s, check out the video of ‘Rajeev doing Flamenco’, it brought back great memories of Malibu nights at Trancas Bar and Grill.

I stayed in the old Jewish Quarter which is a maze of streets and tall buildings. Needless to say, I got lost a lot, but I got more lost inside my hotel, Casa de la Juderia. If anyone has stayed there, I’m sure you can relate. I’m guessing this hotel used to be a lot of different places put together or something as there’s a lot of underground walkways and courtyards connecting the buildings. Very cool though.

Adios Spain!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Alhambra Alhambra
Alhambra

Another Alhambra I could definitely live in.
Cathedral & BuggyCathedral & Buggy
Cathedral & Buggy

How pretty is this?
French TouristsFrench Tourists
French Tourists

These two French girls climbed the Cathedral tower, 33 flights. They looked cute, but it took them quite a while to come down in their shoes.
More FlamencoMore Flamenco
More Flamenco

The guy in the back is amazing with his clapping and singing.
Working ItWorking It
Working It

She was good.
Bullring Bullring
Bullring

I bet the inside is cool but I only saw it from the Cathedral Tower.
Columbus FountainColumbus Fountain
Columbus Fountain

He's everywhere.
Columbus' TombColumbus' Tomb
Columbus' Tomb

Evidently he's moved around a lot so who knows if he's actually in there.
Jewish QuarterJewish Quarter
Jewish Quarter

One of the many little squares I'd find when getting lost.
Cul-de-sacCul-de-sac
Cul-de-sac

How fun would it be to live on this little corner?
Kickin it in the ShadeKickin it in the Shade
Kickin it in the Shade

Pretty dove in the park.
GardensGardens
Gardens

Beautiful gardens around the Alhambra.
Plaza de Espana 2Plaza de Espana 2
Plaza de Espana 2

Great place for pictures. There were four bride/grooms taking pics here at the same time.
Rajeev Look AlikeRajeev Look Alike
Rajeev Look Alike

One of the Flamenco men.
First Night in SevillaFirst Night in Sevilla
First Night in Sevilla

Walking to the Cathedral


25th July 2007

Sevilla
I am so glad you made it there. So glad you liked the Casas de la Juderia too..we enjoyed it so much. Safe travelling...can't wait to hear about the dolphins.
26th July 2007

Sevilla
Your blog brought back a lot of "old" memories. I loved Sevilla (also my favorite city in Spain) it is so romantic. Great place to walk around. When I was there I also enjoyed the Flamenco dancers (I'm sure they are not the same ones) They create such fabulous music with all their stomping, clapping and yelling. Really gets you going. Love you and thank you for letting us travel with you. Uncle Dick & Aunt Mary
27th July 2007

Sevilla
Isn't it the most gorgeous place?? When we were there in May, we landed in the middle of one of the biggest festivals. You couldn't even find a place to park, so we had to keep moving on to Jerez. All the horse and traps were magnificent and the ladies in their wonderful dresses, so spectacular. I get the feeling they know how to enjoy the live. Hope to get to spend a few days there soon. Get some good pics of the dolphins please.. and be careful... x

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 24; qc: 115; dbt: 0.0914s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb