Getting Settled


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
July 27th 2009
Published: July 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Lucas & I arrived safely a couple of days ago and have been to the beach each day. I´m making this posting in the hostel of my host sister Esther in downtown Malaga. It´s very cool, modern and hip, with beautiful Bougainvillea on the front terrace where people eat breakfast and hang out. This morning I met a German women and her son, a Portuguese couple, and a Dane with her half Danish/half Brazilian daughter. The Dane speaks Brazilian portuguese so we understand each other pretty well. It´s a lot easier to understand than Portugal portuguese. Lucas is definitely getting an international experience here. The Dane´s daughter only speaks Danish, but with kids they communicate well without language.

We´re having a ball, and trying to get Lucas used to the time change. He´s made fast friends with Eva´s daughter Ana who is 3 1/2 years old. They entertain each other.

I will post photos in a couple of days from my computer once my adapter plug arrives in the mail. I realized once I made it through airport security at Dulles that I had completely forgotten to pack it, so Dave shipped it to me for a small fortune. I knew I´d forget something.

Until later...



Advertisement



30th July 2009

neat-o
Hi Karla! The beach each day sounds so lovely! and all the friends you and Lucas are making. Yes, isn't that funny about kids and no need for language to communicate? I just saw TED's video on Jill Bolte Taylor and been thinking about the language center of our left hemisphere ever since, haha!! Hey that's not bad for forgetting something (just one thing?!) for a big trip, haha :) So glad to you are settled well. Looking forward to hearing more and seeing pics. Ana
1st August 2009

Memory Lane
Hola, Karla ....... You mentioned that it has been (gasp!) TWENTY YEARS since your first trip over as a high school junior. Do you remember my comment to you in about February of that year? You were naturally very excited, couldn't WAIT until summer when you were going over. Just like the anticipation of Christmas. I told you not to wish your life away, that it would be here before you knew it, and it would rapidly fade into the past, and even quicker into the DIM distant past. And you kids don't think us oldies don't know anything. I know you're savoring every moment. Enjoy... enjoy. YOD

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb