Month in Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
July 23rd 2009
Published: July 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Dear Friends & Family:

Lucas & I take off tomorrow for our big trip to Malaga, Spain to visit my host family from when I lived there in high school. Hard to believe that was 20 years ago! Well, we've managed to remain in close touch and visit one another many times over the years, including our extended family on both sides. Dave & I are excited to introduce our little guy to my host family and to the castellano language. We've got a little side trip to Rabat, Morocco scheduled in there as well to visit my friend & colleague.

Lucas is now 4 years old, and I've been speaking exclusively Spanish to him since March; he already understands just about everything, now we just need to get him to speak it. The next month is going to be one big adventure and an exciting experiment for us both. Dave will join us for the last week of our visit.

Meanwhile, I'm planning to keep this blog updated for anyone who's interested in our journey, so you can share in a little of the fun!

Wish us luck and I'll be in touch with a real live post from Spain soon!

Hasta pronto!
Karla



Advertisement



23rd July 2009

Awesome!
Karla - What an amazing experience for Lucas (and you!!!). I am excited to be able to keep up with your travels! Thanks for including me on your blog! Safe travels - Tara
23rd July 2009

Cool!
Karla, that sounds like so much fun! Specially for Lucas. When Lori lived in Germany and had a repairman out to the house, he had finished his job. As Lori was telling him "Danka" in German, 2 year old Kelton said, "Aufiedersane" (I can't spell it without looking it up). Lori was amazed and I was amused! Have fun, I'll be reading the blog! We are getting away the first week of August and running away from the heat. We'll spend 3 or 4 days with Stan, then see other friends before heading back to the hot climate. Nice that Serene-Marie is getting her wish to learn accupuncture in Florida. Have fun and be safe! Love, Aunt Marilyn
23rd July 2009

looking forward to it!
It will be great to get to live vicariously through you, while staying in touch! Enjoy yourself!
26th July 2009

Bon Voyage!
K - Can't wait to live vicariously through you and The Paducinator. Hope the flight was easy! Love you both! - Sherry
26th July 2009

Good luck!
We're looking froward to your updates! Love, Mary and Peter
6th August 2009

Have a wonderful time with your family in Spain
I enjoyed the pictures on your blog. Let me know when Lucas becomes a little Spaniard and speaks fluently. We, John and I are getting much enjoyment from your blog and pictures. Love to you both.

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb