Week 4??? I believe…???


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
February 23rd 2009
Published: February 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well….I went to Granada this weekend which was a pretty good time. We left on Saturday morning and toured around a cathedral there a little bit and then shopped for the rest of the afternoon. We found a ton of really cheap stores for souvenirs on the side streets....it caused us to get chased around by gypsies trying to get us to buy rosemary from them, which was kind of weird...Then at night we climbed up one of the mountains to see the city from up high and the view was AMAZING! You could see everything from up there….and everything was lit up so you could see for miles. We were standing across from the mountain where the monument La Alhambra was built, and there were a bunch of lights shining on it to make it look like it was glowing….it was definitely a worthwhile sight for all the work we had to put into getting up there. Afterwards we went to a bar and watched some traditional Flamenco dancing there, which was also really fun to watch…..then we went to a restaurant for some tapas which were supposed to be FREE but instead we didn’t receive anything and had to pay 5 euros for the bread we didn’t even ask for but was given to us when we first got there. Yay for being a foreigner and getting ripped off!! Which is pretty sad when you consider the fact that Granada is pretty much known for being the one city that offers free tapas with drinks. Fortunately we went to get ice cream afterwards, which pretty much solved all our problems…haha. Sunday we toured La Alhambra and it was definitely the best thing I’ve seen since I’ve gotten hear and we all took wayyyy too many pictures.

Friday night was the last day to attend Malaga’s annual Carnaval on Calle Larios, so we spent most of our night there. It started off with like three random parades and then people crowding in the streets to watch the concert in the Plaza de Constitucion…I have never seen the city so packed! It was definitely an adventure though. We ate some of the most amazing expensive donuts ever...and afterwards we went to a discoteca for some more salsa adventures and I think we’re finally starting to get the hang of it! Maybe. Haha

Yesterday my friend Lisa and I were walking around and wandered past some construction workers - they yelled “beautiful” and when that didn’t get our attention, they started calling us “cookie”. What??? Spaniards make me laugh.

I've come to the conclusion that churros con chocolate is pretty much the best food that ever existed and quickly becoming my new favorite thing here...unfortunately they are probably the most unhealthy thing that exists here too 😞 But oh well, thats not stopping me! They are also ridiculously cheap, which makes my day because its really hard to find cheap food around here when you go out.

Today I hung out at the beach with some friends and am slightly tired from walking to school and back and then to the beach and back….so I’m thinking I’m gonna crash pretty soon here…..or maybe at the computer, who really knows…..


Saturday I get to pick Lindsay and Karen up from the airport!!! I am PSYCHED...and I’m pretty sure they are too



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb