i missed my train?!?!? .......AGAIN?!?!?!?!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
January 18th 2008
Published: January 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

i sent this email to my mom earlier today so i just decided to copy and paste it on here so you could get the full story of my trip from barcelona to malaga.... hehe yeeeeaaahhhh.

hey!!!!!!! i FINALLY made it to malaga after having the worst day EVER! oh my goodness i don't even want to tell you what happened because i can already see that look on your face.... you know the one where you roll your eyes and say michelle! you're such a mess! haha yeah.... so i woke up in plenty of time to make my 8 am train to malaga... but then i kind of dozed off again for about 30 min... so i hauled ass to the train station but the train i had to wait for to take me to the train station was taking SO LONG. so i get to the station with about 3 minutes till 8 i run around but cant find which line the train is at... so i ask someone.. he says go upstairs, then down another escalator because its on the other side.. so i RUN. i get upstairs , find the other escalators and this other guy was blocking them and he said no no.... something in spanish, and he waved his hand back to where i came from... what?!?! so i run around to the other side again and find someone else but NOBODY speaks english and i was like... DUDE! i dont understand you!!! so he made some signal with his hands that the train had already left.. i missed it by like a minute. ugh. so i go to get my tickets changed and the guy at the counter rolls his eyes at me and is like, well the next rain is at 9 pm. what!?!?! no. so i ask if i can take a train to madrid and then from madrid to malaga. success! got my tickets changed and sat down at the cafeteria for breakfast and i was feeling pretty good at this point because missing my train was actually a good thing. the direct train from barcelona to malaga was 13 hours long.... it was one of the older slower trains. but going to madrid first, then malaga, you have to take the new high speed trains... so i would be leaving at 9:30 and getting to malaga at 5:30... so much better! plus i had time to relax and eat. so i sat down in front of a tv that had the departures listed and the line each train was on. what i didnt know then and still dont understand is that the tv was like 15 minutes delayed. so i sat and read my book, determined to actually make this train. well i put the book down and decided to check my phone to see what time it was... 9:30!!!! yikes! so i grabbed my stuff and RAN to line 11 because apparently thats where the train was supposed to be and the girl checking tickets shook her head and said something in spanish... no habla espanol!!!!!! i said and she too motioned that the train had alread left. no £$%&ing way!!!!! at this point i really just wanted to cry. i mean REALLY. so i sat down on a bench and told myself to just breathe. i wanted to scream or throw something sooooo bad but i figured the cops at the train station woulkdnt like that too much so i just sat there. breathing. 15 minutes later i went to get my tickets changed again. and this tijme they sent me all over this place. blah blah blah something in spanish waved a hand in another direction. so when i FINALLY got it all sorted out i sat on the benchs and stared at the clock with my ipod on until it was 30 minutes before my train was scheduled to leave. hooray i finally got on! anyway.... sorry this is long but i just need to vent! so i get into malaga.. and i have very detailed instructions as to how to get to my hostel on foot. well i didnt want to do that so i go to a counter and show him the address.. he says no no go to information. went to information and the counter was closed. what the frick?!?!?! so i decide to try walking... and before you freak out, everybody walks here... the streets are very well lit and there are hundreds of people out walking so its safe... otherwise i wouldnt have tried. so i walk around but heres the thing about streets in europe.... they dont have street signs like we do. occassionally you might find the name of the street on the side of a building, so if you dont know anything about the place... its easy to get lost. needless to say, my directions were worthless. so after about 15 minutes and feeling very frustrated i return to the bus station and find the information center open. so the guy says something in spanish... something about bus 4. i finally find where bus 4 stops and i get on... but when do i get off??? i keep looking for one of the streets listed in my directions but i couldnt find any of them. so i ask the driver where i should get off but he doesnt speak english. so i sit back in my seat and i mean seriously... i was fighting tears back at this point. i just wanted a bed and lots of alcohol. so then the driver says.. chica! and motions for me to come over. he pointed to the street ahead of us and said get off here and turn right there, and showed me on my map where we were. at least i know the words for "go right" in spanish! so i did... anyway this time i was acutally able to follow the map i had yay!!!!! i found the hostel!!!! i was about ready to chew this guy out working at the hostel for having such bad directions on his website.... i mean really, i was practicing what i was going to say! oh and my blood was just boiling at this point! but when he opened the door he was sooooooo friendly! he grabbed my bags and when he saw the map i had he gave me a better, more detailed map. then he made me a free very strong cocktail... and a couple more after that 😊... and fed me free cake and oranges!!! oh my goodness! just what i needed. haha it was funny because we could barely understand each other but we had a good time hanging out. we actually had a conversation by using an online translator. lol! then we watched a couple of movies and i went to sleep. ahhhhhh soooo much better. so im happy now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb