Sacromonte


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
December 8th 2005
Published: December 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

SacromonteSacromonteSacromonte

...I cheated again... (Sorry Travelblog!) I WAN'T ANOTHER CAMERA!! The hill actually looks a lot nicer than this, but you get the picture!
When I come back to Granada I know where I'm going to live. Today I went for a walk up the hill to the "Cuevas de Sacromonte". If there is anything in this world that comes close to a real-life Lord-of-the-Rings style Hobbit Village, this is it! It is incredible! Centuries ago, people actually just dug caves into the side of the hill and setup their lives in them! Some families are still there- with incredibly fancy and extended caves- but a whole load have just been abandoned or are being used by gypsies and... that's right, Travellers!

On my walk, I found a cave on the top of the hill that was completely empty, bar a fireplace and two couches. I sat a while on one of the couches and looked out over what must be the best view one can have of Granada. I was of the entire city, with a grand old wall and Alhambra in the foreground, and the snow-capped mountains of the Sierra Nevada in the background.

I was surprised to find that about 50% of the caves were actually vacant! Some had signs of recent habitation, but I can't imagine it would be out of the question to trek up there with a swag and a billy and just camp there for a while! All around the side of the hill some of the more established locals were wandering around gardening, playing flamenco or just lounging in the sun on their patios...

So next time I'm in Granada: anyone up for living in a cave with me for a while? I think we'll have to be careful not to get too comfortable! The lifestyle looks addictive! 😊

Advertisement



9th December 2005

CAVES!!!!
That is the coooolest thing ever... I wanna live in a cave, surrounded by gypsies! They should have these things EVERYWHERE for the travellers that are too broke to actually pay for any accom! And hey, would you have to pay hideous Margaret River rates on a CAVE? I don't think so... :) You should turn into a gypsy, Chaz, then you could find out the best ways to do ANYTHING on the cheap!... and learn to play Django ukulele!
10th December 2005

you'd make a great gypsie!

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb