The Importance of Siesta


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
December 13th 2005
Published: December 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Barra del FlamencoBarra del FlamencoBarra del Flamenco

Went to a cool flamenco bar with a cavernous vibe last night
After about a week in spain, it's almost inevitable that you will develop semi-reverse sleeping patterns. If you sleep in a bit too long, you will finally venture outside at maybe 1:30 or 2pm to find that everything is closed! On discovering that nothing reopens until 5pm, you decide to may as well go and recline on the terrace with a beer until it does. And that's the point of no return.

For the rest of the evening you are in a cheerful 'up for anything' mood and as soon as someone suggests going to see some Flamenco or popping out for a bit of Tapas at 11pm, you accept graciously and don't check your watch again til' 3!

This has been happening to me every night for the past week, and (not that I'm complaining!) wake-up time has gradually moved from 9am (quite a reasonable sleep in!) to about 12 or 1pm (just a blatant abuse of the concept of 'sleep in'!)

I figured that this is the main reason the Spanish invented the Siesta, and if I lived here I'm sure I would embrace the idea! I am, however only here for one more day... so
Siesta O'ClockSiesta O'ClockSiesta O'Clock

Houses of Granada from our rooftop terrace.
sleep can wait!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

El VínoEl Víno
El Víno

I like what it does to my eye :P
Sunset over GranadaSunset over Granada
Sunset over Granada

also from our rooftop verandah
Late Night UkuleleLate Night Ukulele
Late Night Ukulele

On one of our dark alley missions in the wee-earlies. (It appears the camera had trouble functioning because it was so COLD!!!)
A more lucid shotA more lucid shot
A more lucid shot

Show me the way to the next Tapas Bar! Oh don't ask why!
Owen con ÇervezaOwen con Çerveza
Owen con Çerveza

The Crazy Welshman. Possibly the ODDEST character I have met so far. Friendly chap, but almost impossible to understand what he's saying!
OwenOwen
Owen

a strange strange man
What the hell kind of smile is this!?What the hell kind of smile is this!?
What the hell kind of smile is this!?

I just had to put this photo up! I look about 12!!!
Belgian DudeBelgian Dude
Belgian Dude

Looking ¡Muy Serio! He taught me some cool drumming things involving tables!
My Perth friend!My Perth friend!
My Perth friend!

Tal is beautiful
Jamming on the StairsJamming on the Stairs
Jamming on the Stairs

Had a Flamenco jam every couple of nights with the 'chef-in-residence' and a one-handed drummer. (Def Leppard style. He was really good!)
Cruddy UkuleleCruddy Ukulele
Cruddy Ukulele

Mal (or 'Malo' as I've renamed him: means 'bad' in Español!) was crapping out on me, so I turned him into a drum...
Sierra NevadaSierra Nevada
Sierra Nevada

Sunset from our roof again with the glowing snow-capped mountains in the background


13th December 2005

You're a very beardy 12 year old, laddie. Where is Lila??? When are you reuniting with her???? Dad wants to know how she's doing. We're gonna start on the cuatro soon! Thinking of naming it Charlie... if it's ok with dad, I'm not sure if it's gonna be his or mine yet!
14th December 2005

That second comment was from me mum in case for some strange reason you didn't get that :p
14th December 2005

well you look like your ready to give up all this siesta time and go freeze yer ass off again in england. better take some oxygen with you as the oil explosion has munted yhe atmosphere up there. good health to ya asta la vista baby xxxxx

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb