Miami Bound


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Almería
April 12th 2010
Published: April 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have some important updates to share with you all. The second week of March I went up to Granada. I went to the university to learn more about the Masters program I was interested in. I was really nervous. I knew that this trip was going to reveal a lot about what this year would have in store for me. Would I be able to stay in Spain for another year? I definitely didn't have any desire to leave here any time soon, but I also have made it a priority to finish school. So I went and I found out that the program isn't for me. The problem wasn't my visa nor would I have had too many problems getting my degree validated here in Spain. The problem was the content and structure of the Masters program itself. It turns out that the program is undergoing some changes and it doesn't quite fit my education needs. I was absolutely crushed. I had my heart set on staying here at least another year. The fact is that I'm so incredibly happy here in Spain--maybe happier than I've ever been in my life. For the first time in a while I'm somewhat financially stable. I have an apartment and I have all of my things in order. I have a community of friends, a wonderful church, and a job where I'm respected. I know that it will be my time to go in June, but I'm sure that you can understand why I don't want to leave.

My new plan is to return to the US in June and to go back to school in the fall. The best school match for me is in Miami. It's not the New England school/city that I had imagined, but at least I know some people in the area. Another added bonus is that Key West is only 3.5 hours away. If you asked me if I am excited for coming back to the States or for starting a new phase of my life in Miami my answer would still be no. I guess I'm still mourning my sudden change of plans a little. For now I'm taking full advantage of the little time I have left in Spain. I have less than 2 months left! There are so many things that I love about this country and the details of the every
MiamiMiamiMiami

For a little optimism, here are some important people that i´ll get to live close to.... Rebeca and Raymond
day life here. I know that it's going to be very hard for me to adapt back to life in America--especially because I have to start all over again. When I moved to Spain I sold my car and most of my things. I need to find a job in Miami so I can get a car--but I also need a car in order to get a job. I need to move my things across America. I need to find an apartment. I need to fund another college education and yet continue paying loans from the last one. Where is all of this money going to come from? As much as I love traveling and fresh starts, they can also be very exhausting.

My plane will land in Pittsburgh on June 8th. Be assured that I will be very happy to see you all. I have definitely missed you. Thank you so much to those of you who have sent me letters and e-mails and to those who have made skype dates with me. Your effort to keep in close touch has meant the world to me. I would appreciate your prayers as I go into this new phase
MiamiMiamiMiami

Chang!
of my life. Also if anyone has any connections in Miami they would also be greatly appreciated. Whether it's just someone cool that could be a good friend to me or if it could be a possible job connection, I can use all of the help that I can get.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

MiamiMiami
Miami

My Uncle Rob and Aunt Bebe


12th April 2010

Love
Hey Katie! I am sorry to hear that things did not work out for you to stay in Spain. I know how much you love it. But it sounds like things will be good in Miami too. (and we will be a little closer!!) I hope that you really enjoy and treasure your last weeks in Spain. Have fun traveling!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb