Coming Home; The End of a Journey and the Beginning of a New One


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Almería
June 4th 2010
Published: June 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello friends and family! My time in Spain is quickly coming to an end. In an hour or so from right now I'm going to head over to my school and say goodbye to everyone--surely the waterworks will kick in. I have much to tell of these last two months. I have done my best to live up every last moment. I went to see my favorite soccer team, Almeria, play against one of the best teams in the world, Real Madrid, at our home stadium. I spent my birthday weekend in Barcelona with some of my dearest friends here. I went to England (Leeds and London) two weeks ago to visit some of my good friends from China. I've returned to Marbella and Cabo de Gata. For many reasons I'm definitely not the same person that I was when I left. Physically I'm 9 pounds lighter; I've been eating healthier and I've practically lived at the gym. I'm much more tan and I'm a blondie again. Most importantly, in this last year I've grown up in different ways and I'm a more confident person. This year has helped me rethink some of my career goals and it has helped me focus on the emminent future. I came here coupled and in love and I return single and much stronger having had that experience. The truth is that I'm very sad to be leaving. So much has happened to me and I dearly love Andalucia. This entire week I feel like my heart has been broken in two. I don't want to go back to the States. That's the honest and hard truth. I miss people sometimes, but I don't miss my country. I've had a lot of financial difficulties this last month. I had problems with my return flight and I had to buy a new ticket; I now have to pay for baggage--and I shouldn't have to! I have all of my normal loan payments plus others are starting sooner than I had expected--not to mention the costs of starting all over again in the States! ugh!
Here's the most important thing of all. Realistically, in the terms of this world, I do indeed have a lot on my hands to be worried and stressed about. The good new is, is that I have much more to hope in. I am determined to take these challenges as an opportunity to grow in my faith. Difficult times are a gift given to us directly from God. It is during these times that we get to trust in Him even more than ever and we really get the chance to experience His perfect peace. With this knowledge I readily accept the present challenges and I will embrace these difficulties with the assurance that they will bring me closer to my God.
Monday morning I will take a train from Almeria to Sevilla. On Tuesday morning I will finally be homeward bound. Please pray for safe travels. I can´t wait to see you all!!!
Hasta pronto. Muchos besos y abrazos, Katie Rae

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb