Aurevoir France...Zdravo Slovenia


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
September 19th 2006
Published: September 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Nearing the endNearing the endNearing the end

The last good day of weather in Gascoignie.
Hello all from Slovenia,

No that is not part of France in case any of you are wondering. And its Slovenia, between Italy and Croatia, not Slovakia next to the Czech republic. Quite a small place really.

So France and the walking is all done. Need time to digest but all in all it was a great experience and although my French is not good, probably not even average, I can understand a great deal and can even hold a basci conversation. I like to bring up the Zidane headbut as often as possible. Fortunately for the French I then point out that in next years Rugby world cup this will be almost legal and perhaps Zidane was getting his practice in early.

The last few days on the Chemin were really difficult. Partly because I was nearing the end but also because an Arc or canoe would have been a more suitable form of transport that a pair of boots. Incredibly wet boots at that as well. Gascogne as a part of France was beautiful and the local people remained as helpful and lovely as before. Basically I had enough of walking. Woke up in the morning
Rather hot and sunnyRather hot and sunnyRather hot and sunny

This da was a scorcher. Slept in an ancient town which started life as a monestary when two monks came back from Rome in about 1086. I arrived in 2006 however.
on the 17th, in the small town of Air sur ladore, surprisingly it was raining. Perhaps the term rain isnt a strong enough word. Typhoon from the 7th plain of hell is the picture that springs up in the mind. I just thought sod it and jumped on a train to Nice for the night and then arrived in Slovenia to stay with Marta from Spanish Camino fame for a while.

So I didnt quite finish off the French Camino. But I got pretty damn close when I return to walk again I shall start in Air Sur Ladore. Its only about 4 days from Saint Jean Pied Port and as all those who have walked in Spain will testify those 4 days will help prepare for the big hump which is the Pyranees. Rather knackering that baby I can tell you.

I loved France such a different country from others. I wouldnt say it has the best food. Not spicey enough. I wouldnt say its the most beautiful. Not enough mountains. Wouldnt say it has the best cities. Too dirty. Wouldnt say the people are the most friendly. Oh the French with their touch of arrogance. The only thing I can say is that I enjoyed myself greatly and everything else in and about France is like no other place in the world it is unique. From the countrside, people, cuisine and history. I think the French would be happy to be considered unique.

Onwards to the Balkans for now...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb