Carneval in Ljubljana


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
February 21st 2009
Published: February 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Osama Bin LadenOsama Bin LadenOsama Bin Laden

Osama came to the carneval - in his cage.
This is my first weekend in Ljubljana and so far it's been good. I got up this morning, made myself some breakfast and walked into town where I met up with Maja and her friends. We watched the carneval and went for a coffee by the river. After that I did some vegetable shopping at the market. I had picked some carrots and onions and was ready to pay when the woman at the stall pointed at some lettuce and said "Dober!" Before I even had time to think she had filled up a huge bag with lettuce, so I figured I'll just have to eat a lot of greens the coming days. It was good though. I went back home for a while before I hit E.Leclercs for some more shopping. Ajvar is the first edible thing I have fallen in love with <3

When I got home I fixed my room and put up some photos on the wall. I am really strating to like it here. Hopefully my snowboard boots will arrive soon, so that I can go to the mountains with the people from Voluntariat :-)

Things I have learned today:

*The Slovene word
Fruit marketFruit marketFruit market

Delicious!
"Copat" is used exactly the same way as the Norwegian translation (tøffel) - it's a thing that keeps your feet warm, but it's also a word to describe a man. I learned that Slovene men are allowed to have their leave from work when they have a kid (in this discussion the word "copat" was brought up.)

*I just learned that no matter how I phrase the statement above, it sounds harsh.

* I learned that "Zaprto" means closed.

* The carneval is not as popular in Ljubljana as in other cities in Slovenia. Each city/place has it's own mask. The carneval tradition has been going on since the middle age.

* I learned that I have to reorganize my brain cells in order to remember names.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

DinnerDinner
Dinner

My dinner today, consisting of pasta, ajvar and a very dober lettuce.
The Ljubljana maskThe Ljubljana mask
The Ljubljana mask

Huge "monsters" came to chase away the winter. These outfits must be unbearably heavy!


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb