Skocjan Caves


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
April 18th 2008
Published: April 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A Little Help Please?!A Little Help Please?!A Little Help Please?!

As you can tell, the road signs aren't so bad to figure out when you aren't driving along at 130 km/hour. It has been interesting, but not really that bad.
Wow, today was a lot of fun. I headed back towards Trieste, Italy (but stayed in Slovenia) to an underground cave system called Skocjan. It was huge. In America only Mammoth Caves and Carlsbad Caverns are larger. The tour was about an hour and a half through 2 separate caves areas. One was the silent cave and the other was the murmuring cave because it has a river flowing through it. I'm telling you, the caves were absolutely huge. I bought the book on them they were so impressive. I took a couple pictures although we weren't really supposed to and other people were as well. I also drove about 40 km per hour over the speed limit, so I didn't feel so badly. The caves were filled with Stalagmites and stalactites and columns, where the 2 meet and form one floor to ceiling one. I met a woman from Portland while down in the cave. Small world.

After the cave tour, I went to Lipicia farm, where they developed and breed Lipizzaner horses. It was a scenic farm and nice tour. After that, I drove back up to Ljubljana. I really like Slovenia. If I come back, or should
The Skocjan Cave is Under thisThe Skocjan Cave is Under thisThe Skocjan Cave is Under this

This should give a good idea of just how huge the caves are.
I say when I come back, I want to spend more time here and then head through Czech Republic and into Poland. That would be a nice trip.

Off to Zagreb, Croatia tomorrow. Wish me luck with trying to find the hotel. Sigh.

And again, if you can only see a couple pictures, click on one and 8 will show up for you.

B


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

In the CaveIn the Cave
In the Cave

Stalagmites and Stalactites in the cave. I still remember that the stalagmites might touch the ceiling and the stalactites have to hold on tight.
Underground RiverUnderground River
Underground River

This goes all the way to the Adriatic Sea, but not underground all the way. It was roaring today with all the rain we have had.
Cave ExitCave Exit
Cave Exit

To get a perspective, look for the person walking along in the center of the picture.
Another Soggy BrendanAnother Soggy Brendan
Another Soggy Brendan

Yup, here is another Brendan soaked to the bone picture. Happy, but wet from the rain and water dripping in the cave.
Our Way up to the Parking lotOur Way up to the Parking lot
Our Way up to the Parking lot

Thankfully we didn't have to walk all the way up. That would have been a long hike.
Lippizzaner horsesLippizzaner horses
Lippizzaner horses

They are smart as well as beautiful.


19th April 2008

Caves...ohhh scary!
Brenden- it's Michelle from work! you're pictures are masterpieces! The caves scare me!!! we miss u much and look forward to seeing more pictures!
19th April 2008

You will love Zagreb, both my girls have gone to visit granparents whom moved back after living in America for 30 years. loved the pictures of the caves. You look good even wet.
19th April 2008

caves are amazing!! Weather there looks like it is the same as we are having here. I guess the sun is waiting for you to come back. Follow the maps and have a great time. see you soon...barb

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb