On The Road Again


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
April 16th 2008
Published: April 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Trieste, ItalyTrieste, ItalyTrieste, Italy

More than just home to Illy coffee. This was beautiful.
I am once again at a hotel with internet access through the hotel computer, so no pictures again. If I find an internet bar, I will see what I can do. Driving up here from Firenze was actually very easy. I only made one wrong turn, exiting the autostrade, but I was able to fix it quickly and easily. Trying to figure out where I need to go while driving with the flow of traffic was exciting in itself.

I stopped in Trieste for coffee. To celebrate, I had 2 cappuccinos. 1 to drink and the other to wear on my shirt. Grrr. So I bought a nice cafe au lait colored long sleeve polo in Trieste. Guess it was meant to be. On my way out of Trieste, I passed the Illy plant, or at least a huge Illy sign. I snapped a picture of it, so will post it as soon as possible.

Ljubljana is a very pretty city. (the letters on the keyboard are mixed up, so the y and z are in opposite places. I did not realize how much I use the y until now) I walked around the river area for a bit,
Mountain with CloudsMountain with CloudsMountain with Clouds

I kept watching this mountain as I drove. The clouds moved and changed all the time. I thought it was just beautiful.
and had dinner at a very lackluster restaurant. As adventuresome as I like to be, I was not going to have the horseflesh in any way shape or form. Sorry guys, you are just going to have to try that one yourselves. I did have a great appetizer of what seemed to be a pancetta on a bed of what looked like mizuna, but was spicy like arugula. I think it was called ramp or something, but was not the baby leek kind of ramp. Regardelss, it was very good. The entree was pork brochettes. They were more like sates, and were pretty dry, but were served with a nice mustard and french fried potatoes. Overall, it was really sad compared to the food I had in Italy. I will hope for better food as I travel around here.

Hope you are doing well. And please ignore any typos. I donĀ“t have my spell check and am pretty tired today.

Ciao,
B


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Famous DragonFamous Dragon
Famous Dragon

This is one of the dragons from the Dragon Bridge, built in 1900. The dragon has become a symbol of Ljubljana.
Dragon Bridge and CastleDragon Bridge and Castle
Dragon Bridge and Castle

Two of the biggies of Ljubljana. I haven't been up to the castle yet, but hope to Saturday before heading to Zagreb.
Yeah Baby!!Yeah Baby!!
Yeah Baby!!

Illy coffee. As I was driving out of town, I saw this giant sign on the side of the road. It made me so thirsty.


17th April 2008

Good hearing from you!
Hi B, Good to hear from you and yes mom and dad did look at your blog on Sunday and even tried to send a comment but probably erased it rather than sending it. Also, yes we have gotten two post cards so far and have really enjoyed going over your blog every day. The girls at work have to check in every day as well. Well, at least we arent busy since they have to look over every word every day. Sounds like you are having fun and keep up the exploring!

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb