Enjoying my last days


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
July 4th 2005
Published: July 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

View from Ljubljanski GradView from Ljubljanski GradView from Ljubljanski Grad

Taken on a winterday from the castle of Ljubljana towards the alps
After one year in Slovenia I'm ready to take my leave. In one week I will be heading for Pula at the Croatian coast where my journey will begin. But now I ask myself if this will really be the beginning of my travel. For an entire year I have been living as a foreigner. For an entire year I have been living in a country which is not my own. So to start this travelblog I feel it is proper to tell a bit about Ljubljana, which has been my place of residence this last year.

Coming to Ljubljana last year in september I found myself surprised that what I had expected to be a city of communist architecture and statues of Tito was more a mini Paris with highly recommendable café life and a student atmosphere in which I quickly started taking active part.

I began finding friends who as me had chosen to go abroad for a while, many due to studies, internships or volunteering. And together we enjoyed the life and beauty of Ljubljana and Slovenia. We found our favorite cafés, bars discos and complained to each other about the transportation system, the weather, the
Bohinj lakeBohinj lakeBohinj lake

Taken at Bohinj lake doing a one week stay In the summer of 2005
prices...etc and we graduately started living an everyday life in a city that was new to all of us.

Now after 10 month I find myself happily situated in Ljubljana and most importantly I feel home. This is my city!
And now I have to say good-bye and start my travel down the Balcan peninsula. The travel, that one year ago was the true reason for my stay in Slovenia, has now become the end and good-bye to all that I for one year have called my home.

Now I have only to wonder whether I will change or discover that I already did through my time in Slovenia and to prepare myself for a new life back in Denmark!

Anna




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Friends birthdayparty on Kriska Gora Friends birthdayparty on Kriska Gora
Friends birthdayparty on Kriska Gora

Taken on Kriska Gora in December when we gathered to celebrate life in Slovenia
The view of LjubljanicaThe view of Ljubljanica
The view of Ljubljanica

Taken in Ljubljana on a aftenoon in the spring!


Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 30; qc: 109; dbt: 0.1419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb