Salamanders in Slovenia


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
January 31st 2007
Saved: October 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Lake BledLake BledLake Bled

The very picturesque church on the island in the middle of the lake.
Before I begin I would just like to say sorry for my title... I am quite tired after a sleepless night on the train from Ljubljana to Budapest so Im going to use that as an excuse for a total lack of creativity and imagination... :P

Bled
Like everyone says, Bled is one of those truly beautiful settings. It doesn't seem to matter about the weather or what mood you are in, you will always remember it as a very special place. I had wanted to visit it sometime during my Slovenia visit and when I met 3 cool guys in my hostel who were heading there the next day I jumped at the opportunity. We met 3 Aussie girls on the train and convinced them to join us too (they were on their way to Salzburg) and then our group increased again when 3 more Aussies joined us at the hostel. Travelling alone has its advantages but it was really fun to have such a large group even though it was just for one day. We climbed up to the castle that evening to watch the sun set over lake Bled which was magical. Then back to the hostel for card games and just hanging out together.

In the morning we walked all the way around the lake getting views of the island from different perspectives. Then our group split up and we all pretty much headed our own ways. I returned to Ljubljana with Fonz (a Belgian guy) and we explored the city a bit more.

Ljubljana
Fonz was just beginning a 5 month study in Ljubljana in connection with his Psychology degree so we spent most of the afternoon looking for accommodation for him. Some really nice Slovenian girls (everyone here is very friendly and nearly everyone speaks English very well) helped us quite a bit and it was fun to hang out with locals and go to local places. Among other things we tried a horse burger (sorry Mum, and Joy and Clara and all those horse lovers out there... :P), got stuck into some quality Slovenian wine and got recommendations on where to go out. One of the places recommended I had been to on my first night in Ljubljana. I was with a group of Aussies and we had been to a few pubs and wanted a change of scenery so thought
Arriving in BledArriving in BledArriving in Bled

Our group having grown to 8 as we managed to convince 3 Australian girls on the train to join us.
wed check out some of the clubs. It was a Sunday night though and most were closed except for one that had a Special Night on... What we didn't know was that the Special Night was actually a Gay and Lesbian Night... Anyway we were in a big group so decided to stay and pretty much just kept to ourselves having a good time. :P

Postojna
The next day, after Fonz had found a really good apartment, we decided to go on a day trip to Postojna. It is about 1 hour south of Ljubljana and is famous for the Karst Cave formations surrounding it. We took a guided tour of the most famous cave which involves taking a small train 2km into the cave and then walking for about 1km along narrow pathways. The caves were enormous and the stalactites and stalagmites were amazing. At the end of the tour we were taken to a small vivarium where they had 3 Olms, a type of Salamander that lives deep in the caves. Since there is no light that far down they don't have any eyes and have developed a number of amazing characteristics. They have both gills and
Lake BledLake BledLake Bled

Late on our first day we went down for a walk along the lakes edge.
lungs so can live comfortably in water and also wander around the caves, they can survive for more than a year without eating and they can live to the ripe old age of 100 years!!

At the end of the tour we asked the tour guides if there was a way to get to Predjama Castle, which was about 10km from the caves. They said not unless you had a car but one of them offered to take us there. It turned out that he also gave tours of the Castle so on our way there he told us all about it and the legends surrounding it. The Castle used to belong to a guy called Erasmus and he was a bit like Robin Hood except he never really passed on any of his pickings to the poor. The King turned a blind eye because Erasmus kept the Turks at bay but then one day the King got sick of him so he laid siege to his castle. This went on for weeks and then Erasmus started to mock the King by sending him gifts of fresh cherries and even a healthy cow... (There is a system of caves behind the castle that Erasmus used to get supplies.) At a loss the King turned to betrayal (as they always seem to do) and one of Erasmus servants betrayed him allowing the King to kill him. The castle is pretty much built onto the side of a cliff and the cave system starts right behind it. After our visit we hitchhiked back to Postojna with a nice old couple and then caught a bus to Ljubljana.

That evening I hung out in the hostel with a group of guys until 2am and then caught my connection to Budapest, where I met up with one of my best friends from last semester, Kati. She has been amazing to me and I am right now using her computer while she is at work so a very big thank you to you Katika!! :P



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

Lake Bled after sunsetLake Bled after sunset
Lake Bled after sunset

We had this amazing view from the castle ramparts.
Path from the Castle to the LakePath from the Castle to the Lake
Path from the Castle to the Lake

We pretty much slid down the path as it had frozen over night into a bobsled like ride.
Swan on Lake BledSwan on Lake Bled
Swan on Lake Bled

My love of taking useless photos of animals continues...
Pub Crawl in LjubljanaPub Crawl in Ljubljana
Pub Crawl in Ljubljana

This cool bar chick gave me a bottle opener as a momento :)
Clubbing in LjubljanaClubbing in Ljubljana
Clubbing in Ljubljana

The Cloak Room girl I hung out with when the others left. Why didnt I leave too...
K4 - Gay and Lesbian NightK4 - Gay and Lesbian Night
K4 - Gay and Lesbian Night

The guy on the right was particularly interested in one of the Canadians...
Yes, I ate horse...Yes, I ate horse...
Yes, I ate horse...

Sorry to all those horse lovers out there... For everyone else it has the same texture as beef but a much stronger taste, a bit like game meat. :P
Predjama CastlePredjama Castle
Predjama Castle

Jousting events are held in the area in front of the castle in summer.
View from the caves above Predjama CastleView from the caves above Predjama Castle
View from the caves above Predjama Castle

The caves behind the castle go on for kilometers and kilometers having several different exit points.


Comments only available on published blogs

2nd February 2007

Yes, that was a useless photo
Glad to see you enjoyed Slovenia mate, definitely one of my favourite countries in Europe! Cya soon!
2nd February 2007

You welcome.So bad that I have to work, and couldnt be with you during the day.Hope I can leave the office soon!Meet you back home.Bis bald!Katika
2nd February 2007

Hoiw did you get your blog on Slovenia up before me???
Nice going Joel. Loved the photos of Bled and the castle. Really looking forward to seeing you tonight in Bucharest! It will be great to all be travelling together!
2nd February 2007

travel buddy!
I miss traveling with you! Thinking of couch surfing somewhere near Iowa....not as exciting, but should tide me over!
2nd February 2007

More photo comments
More bizarre than the useless pic of the swan is that other photo of the cloak room girl. Numerous intriguing questions spring to mind 1) Why did you stay when the others left, I hope it wasn't for her. 2) She looks downright hostile, I got a little scared looking at her 3) Why the big stupid grin on your face. Will we ever get a straight answer, I doubt it very much.
2nd February 2007

Horse Lovers' Unite!!
Joel, your range of food tasting has expanded yet again! Interested in the Salamanders. Hope you can give me some more details about them when I catch up with you soon! Botsalano
3rd February 2007

I believe my friend alcohol answers most of your questions...
1) I was having so much fun handing out coats with catch phrases like "Have a good night!" and "See you next time!" 2) I think she thought I might take over her job and she would be unemployed... 3) I'm having so much fun! I have found my calling in life! :P Hope those are satisfying enough answers for you mate. Otherwise too bad...
23rd February 2007

really nice
Hey, it look like you had a lot of fun. I heard that also the valley of river So a is very nice and it offers a lot of various adrenaline activities - from bungee jumping to canoing and stuff. Well maybe next time... But I agree with you on Bled. Defenitely a romantic alpine place to visit. And partying in Ljubljana :) no comment.... Very satisfying country. :)
11th March 2007

true love
looks like you and that cloak room girl really had something going mate! just look at that smile!!
22nd November 2007

wow lake bled looks nice.. have to go there someday as well hahaa :)

Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 28; qc: 109; dbt: 0.1333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb