A day at Lake Bled


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Bled
January 10th 2013
Published: April 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Did I put the handbrake on? Did I put the handbrake on? Did I put the handbrake on?

Too busy taking photos.
We took a break from skiing in Rauris and headed south into Slovenia. The roads were clear and so we took the back blocks. Without really planning it, we ended up a dead-end valley where the only path through the mountains was via a rail motor. The car was loaded onto a carriage and passengers off-loaded into carriages. Great scenary, though I was constantly concerned whether I had secured the handbrake. My imagination ran wild, and of course all was fine.

Into Slovenia through the frontier, and somehow we missed the instruction that said get a permit to drive on the roads. Careering confidently down the highway towards Bled, our car was joined by two quasi-military looking vans. They followed us for perhaps a kilometer when they turned on the persuit lights and directed me into a side road. Again my imagination, and South American memories, kicked in and I wondered what this was likely to cost me. The Slovenian highway police, complete with eastern block uniforms, checked my credentials and told me "That would normally cost you EU300 but because you're an Australian, it will only cost you EU150". Still a significant whack, but I wasn't going to complain about the capriciousness of the decision.

Lunch in Bled was a little hard to find. We were seeking local sausages - gotta love homestyle processed meats! Catherine entered a little bar and asked the proprietor if he had sausages. She must have used an Australian-abroad-talking-to-a-foreigner accent because the guy just said "Please talk normally lady!". Great hearty lunch from this Canadian/Slovenian ex-pat. Great local beers also. The lake at Bled was picture perfect and we tried to capture that.

As we headed back to Rauris in the evening, the snow fell again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Southern AustriaSouthern Austria
Southern Austria

Roads were goat tracks.


Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 63; dbt: 0.096s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb