Lake Bled and the massacre of the midgets


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Bled
September 6th 2011
Published: January 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Heading to Austria and we stopped at Lake Bled. Now I was really excited about this, it was one of my big ‘looking forward to’s, and from the stories I had heard, I had really high hopes. Admittedly, I was a little let down. Don’t get me wrong it’s incredibly beautiful, like something out of a fairy tale; I guess I just built it up too much in my head. So we’re sitting down by the lake and some Japanese tourists ask me to take a photo for them as I happily did. Then they asked us all to get in the photo with them, such a random moment, the photo looked great, I just wish I’d got one on my camera. So what about the midgets you ask? Well it’s a bit of a personal joke but as I’ve mentioned Toms been doing the video journal the whole was and he asked kindly if I could give a speal on Lade Bled. Other that the fact that it looks beautiful, I really knew nothing of the lake, so when the camera started rolling I figured, ah well, make it up :-). So I began with this long story of how an evil tyrant once slaughtered 100,00 midgets (or something) and threw them from the castle and into the lake, turning the water blood red, and that the lake known thereafter and Lake Bled. <span><span><span>Ok, so it’s one of those ‘funny at the time, you had to be there moments’, but we all had a good laugh.

Also while we were there the 2011 world rowing championships just happened to be on. We got to see the mixed 4’s Para Olympic race, the ‘B’ final, a cool little highlight due to absolute luck.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb