Oh my God we’re in Eastern Europe!! – Bratislava


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Bratislava Region » Bratislava
October 13th 2011
Published: January 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So it’s off to Bratislava. Firstly I will admit, although I knew that Bratislava would be nothing like it appears on Eurotrip, that movie is still the primary reason I came here.

I sad goodbye to Sal and Corrina at the train station which was really sad as they were heading to Salisbury. So I get on the train and I’m sharing the cabin with this Polish girl, and for the next 2 and a half hour trip we talked and talked and talked. About everything, religion, history, politics, war, traditions, people, travels, it was really an amazing time, and she was really an awesome chick. Milana I think her name was. I had been having one of the best trips anywhere but it was one of those things where you walk away knowing you’ll never see her again, which is kinda sad, but hey, that’s travelling I guess.

So I got to Bratislava and hit a walking tour (that had an Aussie guide of all things, Brissy boy). Bratislava is is a bit of a sleepy little town for a capital city, but it’s got some amazing history in the cold war and more importantly, the subsequent velvet revolution.

That night the 3 girls I was sharing a room with (2 Slovenians and an Aussie, Steph) plus a girl from Berlin, Katrina, all went out for a bit of a night time sight-seeing tour. <span> We went up to see the castle and just had a hell of a lot of fun in general, the Slovenian girl, Datia I think, was an absolute paparazzi with the camera, but she ended up getting some really good shots. After a little while the Slovenian girls went home and me, Steph and Katrina went to this cool Rock Bar for a few. Cool little thing was that all the food menu items were named after rock songs, nice :-). So after a few tequilas, and a few B52’s laced with absinthe, plus a shot of traditional Slovak gin, the night turned out to be a really good time. Steph changed accents about 3 times throughout the night ha ha ha. Katrina got my email so I hope she finds me on Facebook, because I was off the next morning, and thus, it had to be a reasonably early one that night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb