The long road home – Warsaw, London and a final closing


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
October 14th 2011
Published: January 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So it was back to Budapest, then just narrowly making my flight I was in Warsaw. I had about 4 hours in Warsaw so I figured I’d check it out a bit. Couldn’t get my hands on a map though so I just jumped a bus and asked a local (who told me to change busses ha ha ha), but I made it to the city, although it wasn’t the ‘old town’ I was looking for, but it had a really cool memorial park, and I stopped for dinner at this little grill place, and the girl spoke no English at all, but we worked it out :-). I was actually surprised, with Warsaw, no one spoke much English at all. Anyway back on the plane to London and I’m sitting next to this Polish guy, 3 generations from Warsaw, so I asked him about this memorial I saw in the park with two soldiers guarding a flame, and it turns out that it’s a memorial to unnamed soldiers, and guards volunteer for the honour to guard it 24/7, really cool.

So anyway, back in London, and I had dinner with Narelle, Danny and Nassim (my cousin and her family), said my goodbyes, and it was back to Oz the next morning.

So here I am, less than an hour from touching down in Brisbane airport, the same place I left nearly 2 months ago to the day. But what an amazing 2 months, it seems like a lifetime, the most epic adventure of my life. It’s so sad that its all coming to an end, I just honestly hope I can now find the means to keep travelling. So to all the people I have met along the way, those whose names I can remember, and those whose names I can’t, thank you so much for making this trip so amazing. The sights I can see on Google, but it’s the people that are really unique and create such an incredible and unique experience, so thank you all, it has been amazing, a truly amazing and life changing experience. <span> So here’s to Europe! And the hope that I may get back there some day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb